What's new

Quit music, or not? I'm desperate

TheCrucifix

Hello, this is going to be a very big post, so get ready. To be honest, I'm already ashamed of him, but I have to write this.

I am 21 years old, and I am writing here out of desperation. Now I am closer than ever to quitting music, and I need the advice of experienced people.

But first I will introduce myself: I am from Russia, from a rather poor family. From the "musical background" only singing in the church choir (7 years in a row) By education, information security, but I don't like this profession at all, so I got a diploma and forgot about it.
Around the age of 18, I suddenly realized that insanely much, I want to write music for video games and movies. I was absolutely amazed at how music can immerse you in a fictional universe, and what kind of context it can create. That was the first time I heard the orchestral soundtrack to Dark Souls 3 from the author Yuka Kitamura, and I thought I wanted the same. After that, I listened to the Frenchman Carpenter Brut, and realized that I also wanted to write electronic music, as a result of which I began to mix electronic and orchestral music, because I absolutely could not decide what I liked more. Also, then (and now) I really liked the music from the anime "Angel's Egg" by Yoshihiro Kanno. The main theme of this anime has an incredibly melancholic gamut, which has inspired me not once.

As a result, I started writing. A lot of writing. Sometimes, for 18 hours a day, just because nothing else interested me. At some point, it even became hard for me to listen to someone else's music, simply because it caused me an incredible desire to sit down and start writing. "I want to write the same way" - constantly sounds in my head. In general, almost everything I have, I wrote under great inspiration, inuitively, exclusively by ear. I've studied mixing, mastering, and I think I'm not bad at it, but there's another problem..