What's new

Multiple Hard Drive Best Practices: Partitions, Libraries, Data and Mitigating Streaming Bottlenecks in an NVMe and SSD setup

TimRideout

Hello Wisest Ones;

I have just purchased a new computer and am in the setup phase. You know - the one where you re-think your entire setup and how to do it better from scratch :)

I am a producer for TV and film, so I often run fairly large setups that run the gamut from full orchestral templates, to hybrid production of (a few dozen) audio tracks plus the other "usual suspect" VSTs (Kontakt, Omnisphere, Spitfire etc).

I am currently musing on best practices for drive partitioning and data location for maximum speed and efficiency and would love your thoughts.

I will have three drives: 2X NVMe 4TB and 1X SSD 2TB. My first draft of partitioning is based on my current setup and looks like this:

Drive 1: NVMe 1 (3.7 TB)
Users: 800 GB
Projects 1: 1000 GB
Projects 2: 1000 GB

Drive 2: NVMe 2 (3.7 TB)
Instrs 1: 1200 GB
Instrs 2: 1200 GB
Instrs 3: 800 GB
Loops: 500 GB

Drive 3: SSD 1 (1.8 TB)
Aux: 500 GB
Restore: 500 GB

The storage amounts are fine by me, and will give me room for growth over a projected 8 year horizon - but I would love to have your thoughts on the placement of specifically the INSTRUMENTS partitions (ie, the sample data for my VSTis) as the most bandwidth usage will come from there.

Let me explain further:

With all my previous systems (containing HDDs and SSDs), I have put each Instrument Drive (1, 2 and 3) on different PHYSICAL drives. This allows for more parallel bandwidth when streaming samples, and is an excellent optimization hack (FYI!).

However, this new system is a different story with the NVMe M.2 drive technology being (arguably) over 10 times faster than my older SATA 3 setup. So I am wondering:

1. Is the bandwidth of each NVMe drive so massive, that there is no way I could bottleneck the streaming, so I can just put all my Instruments / samples on the same drive