What's new

Lutoslawski Concerto for Orchestra- LOVE IT

dcoscina

I cannot stop listening to this work. Between the scoring of it and the structure of the work, I find it endlessly inspiring and enjoyable. The second movement is so beautifully scored for muted strings at the opening it perfectly balances the wind lines.

The take away from this piece for me is creating energy through contrapuntal figures and listener engagement through salient motives that can be used via imitative counterpoint. The ideas in this piece aren't terribly complex but how Lutoslawski develops and varies them is the real exciting aspect. And of course timbral contrast is terrifically wonderful.

I remember listening to his music like a maniac when I was a student. The Cello Concerto, his symphonies, the Paganini Variations. His language hits my soft spot for my taste, in the middle of (Mahler & Shostakovich) in one hand and Penderecki on the other one, not so predictable, not that abstract! Alban Berg on the other hand was for me like the upgraded version of orchestration master Korsakov! They all left a mark in my way of thinking. Geniuses

I remember listening to his music like a maniac when I was a student. The Cello Concerto, his symphonies, the Paganini Variations. His language hits my soft spot for my taste, in the middle of (Mahler & Shostakovich) in one hand and Penderecki on the other one, not so predictable, not that abstract! Alban Berg on the other hand was for me like the upgraded version of orchestration master Korsakov! They all left a mark in my way of thinking. Geniuses
Yes the concerto ironically reminds me of both Bartok and Shosty which is funny since they didn’t get along. Or at least Bartok was not fond of his 7th symphony.

I've played (violin) the Concerto for Orch 3x over the years. Solid writing. I also like the Symphony #3, it's not as accessible at first but it's an excellent work.