What's new

Looking for a hybrid synth

Pier

I'm looking for a hybrid synth that can load my own samples.

Ideally I'd want something with the flexibility of Zebra that can also load samples. I imagine Zebra 3 won't be able to load samples though so I'm considering other options.

The ideal choice in terms of features would be Falcon, but as a hobbyist I can't justify spending $350 on it. Also, while I would love to have all those IRCAM goodies, I just don't need anything as deep as Falcon. Omnisphere is also very powerful, but again, as a hobbysit I can't justify spending that much.

My options right now are either Equator 2 by Roli (about $150) or Phaseplant by Kilohearts (about $100). Both are super strong in terms of sound design with pros and cons. Phaseplant is more flexible and has audio rate modulation, but it seems more geared towards Serum refugees. Also, from the demos, Equator seems to sound a lot better in general (maybe the DSP of filters and effects is better?). Equator can load multisamples in SFZ format.

Kontakt is just out of the question for me. I only use it to load libraries. The UI is just awful and I don't want to invest any time or money into the NI ecosystem.

Ableton Live has a sampler but the modulation possibilities are not as great as having a dedicated hybrid synth.

Any thoughts?

PhasePlant seems quite flexible and powerful from what I've played with it so far. And it looks like it's still on sale.

You may also want to consider Arturia Pigments 2. It can also handle sample loading. It's normally $199, but if you wait for a sale, you can get it cheaper (it was 50% off during BF).

Haven't tried Equator 2, so can't comment.

Thanks for the comment.

I owned Pigments 2 briefly before refunding it. Didn't love the UI with so many animations and it had many bugs for me in Windows with a 4K monitor and scaling.

Also Equator 2 seems to be more powerful in terms of sound design as it has 6 layers.