What's new

Is less more???

jeffsarge

I’m new to all of this. I’m an animator who wants to get into creating soundtracks so I’ve been following a lot of threads here that are really great. And I’ve learned a lot. In my business, there’s a saying, “it’s the think, not the ink”. So I suppose my question is when it comes to soundtrack making, how do you weight the importance of sonic mojo vs. creative, imaginative composing? I’m beginning to dive into the infinite number of incredible libraries out there and my head is spinning. Do you really want all those options? Or do you?
Not to sound trite, but the Beatles used 3 instruments and a 4 track recorder ( I know, they used more , but you get the point).

If less is more, just think, how much more more could be.

But I kid. Start with a style/genre you're interested in, then search for a few libraries (limit yourself) you think will help you achieve that sound. Trust your ears, ignore most opinions. Just start small, you don't need every library to be good -- or do you?

I would say, as in any creative endeavor, restrictions often breed creativity, and too much choice risk crippling the process or the result.

Highly subjective of course. But for me it’s true. I own more libraries than I would ever need, but I’m the happiest with both the process and the result when I stick to the basics and limit myself.

Of course I’m just a hobbyist, and I understand if professionals that actually know what they’re doing would disagree with me. :)

Both of the above posts are good advice. In my experience, skills and tools need to grow together. Start with a small set of tools and grow your skill; eventually your increasing skills will hit a limitation because of your tools, at which point you buy some more (and likely with specific purposes in mind). Then you grow your skills again, and so on. It is very easy to get overwhelmed in this space otherwise!