What's new

Intel Macs - ticking time bomb?

wayne_rowley

No, they are not going to explode :)grin:), but there is a day coming, and I think coming quickly where they will be frozen in time!

Let me explain as this came to me yesterday.

I'm contemplating my next music computer. I've been using Logic on Macs for several years now. My current machine is a 2018 i5 Mini that I've updated to 32GB of RAM. Now, I love the performance and power efficiency of M-series Macs (I have an M1 Air) but the Apple prices to upgrade RAM and storage are crazy-high (for a non-pro) and you can only get the higher RAM for the high-end processors (Max and Ultra) which pushes the prices up even more. I'm also not entirely happy that they are not upgradable or serviceable - they have become like phones and iPads, just exceedingly more expensive. But I do like Mac OS, I like Logic and don't really want to jump ship.

So, up until yesterday, I've been contemplating a used Mac Pro - perhaps a top-end 2013 or even a 2019 if I can find one for a good price. After all, storage and RAM can be upgraded and on the 2019 I can stuff it with PCI storage! And I know that Apple are moving away from Intel but the machine will last for years - after all many people are running Mac Pros that are over 10 years old and OpenCore allows you to run newer OSs than what is officially supported...

And then it hit me - that's not going to happen!

It's possible right now because Apple still support Intel Macs and therefore release software as Universal Binaries. But once they completely dump support for Intel Macs (and given the 2019 Pro is 5 years old - that could be as soon as this/next year) then they will only build software in AS binaries. It just won't run on Intel Macs, not even with OpenCore. And it's not just OSes - all software will go the same way, even 3rd-party. No new Logic version. No new plug-ins. It will become frozen in time with the last release of Intel compatible software.