What's new

How important is location in this day and age?

zigacesen

I’m an aspiring media composer that’s still learning the ropes on the biz, I’ve got the composing part down quite well, but that alone means nothing if you’re actually trying to make a living.

Networking seems to be the way to go among other things you can try but the problem in my case is that I live in (excuse my French) bum-f*** nowhere where the media composing business might as well not even exist. (I live in Slovenia, a small country south of Austria, east of Italy).

So my question is how important is location for getting started at least and how does one network if there’s no people around to network with?

I have been making music for movies produced in several other countries without having been in these countries, so location may not be so important anymore – but having connections is. Most likely, the best way to start is first of all to make some music which really represents you – and take it from there.

It's a very broad question.

Location can make it easier to network face-to-face for sure, but if you travel a bit, it may not matter as much.

It also depends on what kind of network that will benefit you to be part of, as well as what type of personality you have. Not everyone can utilize networks, and it can even hurt your opportunities, if you have poor social skills, I believe.

It also depend on what you can bring to the network, and how much time you are ready to invest in it.

Network can be a lot of work, so it depends a lot of who you are, and what your goals are.

In other words, moving to build network has to make sense for you.

it seems to me like its all about who you know rather than actually how good you are, there's thousands of composers out there that can do it better than a lot of the people actually getting work just becuase they are at the right place at the right time or have connections. What a bs world