What's new

Computer specifications for a lost newbie

PlumeLilas

Hello everyone!
I am so sorry for the long post!
Can I have your point of view on something please? Thanks so much.

Long story short, I would like to ask you if you can tell me what computer specs I need if I freeze all my tracks in audio except the one I am playing, and to have very low MIDI latency.
And mostly I would be very greatful for any advice regarding the CPU.

I am new to sample libraries and I have read a lot of threads on here, but I have not really found a concrete response to my question.
I have a phone but I don't have a PC yet and I plan on using Spitfire or Orchestral Tool's, 8dio's, Audiobro's, Fluffy's libraries for instance.

So I am looking at computer specs but honestly I feel overwhelmed by all of this.
I have a dream configuration saved on a website and it's over 5000 $.
It's with Ryzen Threadripper 24 cores.
I don't have this kind of money at all, or rather, I am afraid of spending that much for a PC while I am only new and it represents a lot of money for me at once.
For example, my 8dio, Spitfire libraries I want to buy them over multiple months.
And even years probably.
I have played a bit of small libraries on my mum's computer, I have only bought a few libraries, but not large ones at all.
And I am not sure I need this wonderful computer. It's idiot to break the bank if you don't use your machine at its plain potential, right?

But the thing is I don't mind freezing each track in audio and reactivating it. Music is only a hobbie for me for now.
I have all my time really.
I don't see a problem with this for my case. Do you think it's stupid to write this or can I indeed be happy with this workflow?
Don't hesitate to tell me if it's stupid.

I trust your experience a lot. But I feel like you are all very great composers, but it's not my case, lol.