What's new

Artist name as a film composer.

Do you use your real name or a stage/artist name?

• Real Name

• Stage/Artist Name

Results are only viewable after voting.

tav.one

Life is Good
As a music producer I'm known as T.A.V and my real name is Tavleen Singh. I'm heading towards feature film scores as my primary genre. So should I start using my real name or stick with my current (relatively famous) stage name?

Seems like using full name is the norm in film industry. Junkie XL used to make me feel okay about it but seeng him changing gears and using his real name in latest works puts me in a little confusion.

PS: There is already a famous celebrity (Journalist) with the name of Tavleen Singh in my country, if that changes anything.

use your stage name. It's cool and people are looking for a sound right now, not really composition. If you are known for your sound, stay with that.

I'm thinking of switching to "Buddy Bo-Bob 'Britches' Beauville." Based on extensive research.

use your stage name. It's cool and people are looking for a sound right now, not really composition. If you are known for your sound, stay with that.

I'm thinking of switching to "Buddy Bo-Bob 'Britches' Beauville." Based on extensive research.
You could be B to the 5th Power! B5

TAV... it doesnt matter. You can let the director/producers know and you may request things like having your artist name with a specific font or someting. I doubt that they will budge but you never know and it might work for promoting yourself.
the only thing that matters is that in the cue sheet has the name that royalties will be paid to. so make sure your PRO and PRO affiliates have your name and/or artist name. make it clear as poeple might assume one thing and then issues happen.