What's new

AI - Next steps we can take [SPINOFF for non "next steps" conversations]

SimonFranglen

My name is Simon, I am a working composer. I love the bleeding edge of technology and I work with companies on finding the next bleeding edge once the wounds have healed enough. I have sat on panels and committees around the world on the future of AI and Music, most recently the UK Government ‘Creative UK’ summit, where ironically I was the lone music creator on the floor with four AI business leaders from the other side of the equation.

At each of these panels, the AI pioneers genuinely promote a wonderful vision of us being freed from the drudgery of creating music by the new systems, the learning systems that generate playlists for Spotify become the learning systems of music creation. Billions of dollars are being invested in the utopian ideal that everyone can be creative, that there’s no need for music training, that all the learning from experience and mistakes, all the blood sweat and tears that we call composition and music production can be condensed into a text line prompt.

I have three major problems with this. Well, maybe a hundred major problems, but let’s start with these.

1: Elevator music. A billion gibbons on typewriters will submerge that one copy of AI Hamlet with 999,999,999 variations that head towards blandness; the system will not ‘understand’ why Mozart is not Salieri, as Salieri is more successful. The action of sampling large models of data is that everything is averaged, so over iterations, AI Mozart becomes AI Salieri; the average quality of all music will be inexorably driven down. The shock of a radically different approach, say Stravinsky causing riots in 2013 in Paris, The Damned 'New Rose', Miles Davis' 'Kind of Blue' will disappear as we are be submerged in a swamp of bland.