What's new

3D TV - I don't get what the difference is....

PaulWood

...Ok, so one of the major stumbling blocks is that most TVs don't accept the 120Hz incoming signal, and don't have the necessary processing power.

But why does it need to be sent out at that frequency, and why does it need more power?

In the cinema, we mostly use passive polarized glasses, and the 3D image is created by "dual images" on the print (ie, there is no need for 2 projectors).

The new 3D TVs use active liquid crystal shutter glasses, which are sync'd with the TV (using Bluetooth, wireless, or other connection).

So.... as most of the work in creating 3D is in the filming and rendering of the content, why can't it be viewed on a normal TV (as it is projected through a "normal projector" in the cinema).

Cheers!

Paul

I'm by NO means an expert here, but the cinema projection for 3d is based on a different type of canvas i've read. Something to do with silver.. Like I said, no expert, but maybe its do with the actual projection / viewing matieral, rather than the glasses and whatnot :)

I saw Avatar last week and it was a perfectly normal screen.... Dolby has some kind of technology that allows that. Not sure what it is.

Think of it like the refresh rate on a computer monitor. It's how many times the screen is being redrawn per second. A normal monitor (in order to reproduce a smooth normal picture) is at least at a refresh rate of 60Hz. 3D would need twice that because the way it is being done is there would be two pictures needed to be displayed per eye. Since they are slightly different images. So for each eye to get the benefit of a 60Hz screen...the overall refresh rate of the screen would need to be at least 120Hz. The screen "redraw" would just be twice as fast.

I saw Avatar last week and it was a perfectly normal screen.... Dolby has some kind of technology that allows that. Not sure what it is.