What's new

1st ever composition - Feedback welcome

Jono

Hi everyone,

For those that don't know me, my background is that of a stage and studio musician (guitars). In the interest of pushing myself further, I've decided to study composition and orchestration and begin writing music for myself. As an avid film lover, it only made sense to go for a more cinematic outlet than that which I am used to.

I've just finished my first composition (scored on paper) without touching a guitar and it feels strangely uneasy to release something into the wild without the confidence that comes with years of experience.

I know there are some seriously talented people on this forum and as I'm just finding my feet with so much of this (sample libraries, production etc) I would be most grateful for opinions and guidance. I've (hopefully) attached an embedded soundcloud player and would welcome any and all feedback.

Hi there.

I'm not really a good composer but since you said any feedback here goes my two cents.

I think you could try working a little more on the dynamics and mix. I feel that some notes are getting lost, and sometimes it sounds a little blurry to me. Maybe it would help if you define a little more what is the melody and what is the counterpoint. I think the focus should be clearer. For instance, on 2:15 you did a great job, the focus is clear and I can hear everything.

I think the composition is good.

I could probably express myself better but I'm not a native english speaker so please forgive me. And as I said I'm not a good composer so you can probably just ignore everything I said.

Thanks for posting Jono. It's pretty good for your first piece. Vidal is right.... there are some sections where supporting string lines are far louder than the other parts (or arpeggios?) which we probably want to hear more of - I can't tell though, because I couldn't really hear those other parts! :)