What's new

Slow movement for Clarinet and Orchestra

muk

Hello everybody

Here's a new mock-up on which I'd love to have some feedback. Basically I'm still learning my way through creating mock-ups, and the hardest part for me is to achieve a satisfying strings-sound.

[flash width=450 height=110 loop=false]https://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F152479053&secret_url=false[/flash]

Thanks for listening.

I quite liked it, composition-wise. The style is reminiscent of Mozart's clarinet concerto, and has some lovely thematic material, although there are awkward moments at 2:00 and 2:30.

String sound is indeed not the best when exposed. What library are you using?

Thanks for your feedback! I agree that the transition at 2:30 is weak. Maybe I can come up with something a bit more organic and interesting there.
I used VSL Dimension Strings here (the rest of the orchestra is VSL SE and SE+). So the library is a good one and is not the problem :) I invested a lot of time in polishing the strings. Still they sound worse than the winds on which I worked much less. Somehow I just can't get them right.

If you have any tipps on how the strings-sound could be improved I'd really appreciate that. As for the workflow, I played everything in (each section divided in two groups) using the legato patch and the TEC breath controller. After that I edited each single note, chose a fitting articulation, and altered the cc 1 data where necessary.

Muk,

As re-peat would maybe say here: it is the source. Although VSL DS has certainly its merits, the overall sound of sec these strings can be quite thin especially the violins (Saxer did some good jobs here with DS however). Have you considered to use them as a layer on top of another strings? They can give a fantastic definition to string sections.

Furthermore you might try out different verb settings: to me it sounds rather dry and you track could use also some more depth.