What's new

My first ever composition written in a DAW, please come rip it to shreds

Ok, So to preface, Ive been majoring in composition for the last 3 years, but only recently realized I REALLY needed to learn to program into a daw since I want to do film scoring. So I saved up and got cubase 7.5 and a slew of stuff from east west. This is my first actually project with midi (of course I screwed around a little first, but this was my first "real" try). Obviously, its no masterpiece, I didn't sit down to do that, I sat down with the simplest harmony/melody I could possibly think of and tried to orchestrate it out in the DAW. So I'm not really looking for criticism on the music itself (though feel free to give it) so much as criticism in the mixing. I did everything I could think of but I know I missed a lot.

The instrument lineup is:
Violin 1
violin 2
viola
viola 2
cello
bass
altoflute

When mixing I got the strings balanced like I wanted then sent them all to one bus so I could control the level of the whole section. then I routed that bus and the alto flute to a bus together with eastwest spaces for reverb to (hopefully) make it sound like all the instruments were in the same room.

I did NO eq, I don't even really know how to eq, I either overdo it or do so little I can't hear a difference. Part of that though could be the speakers I'm using, I'm routing my computers audio through an old pa system I used in a band when I was younger, I don't have money for studio headphones/speakers.

Feel absolutely free to rip this to shreds, thats why I'm posting it here.

https://soundcloud.com/john-agnew/string-thing-1

(sorry, couldn't figure out how to embed it :/)

Firstly, welcome to the forums and congrats on your first piece. I will say this much, your first DAW piece sounds waaaayyyyy better than mine. I like the chordal progression throughout but I was dying to hear an awesome Melody over it, though that was probably not your intentions.