Would The Akai MPK249 or the MPK261 Be A Good Orchestral MIDI Controller?

Which Would You Pick For A Travel Controller?

• Akai MPK249

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Akai MPK261

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Other, Posting Below...

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters

ryevick

I'm new to orchestral sample libraries and looking for a MIDI Controller to take when traveling, for orchestral work. Has anyone tried the Akai MPK249 or the MPK261? I wish the faders where on the left side or middle but it looks like it could handle articulations pretty well, even via pedals.

Thoughts?

Last edited:
Depends on your preferences. For me, I love the feeling of the keys on the MPK series, but those keyboards are too big for my ergonomics. I also use faders with my left hand, so it would drive me nuts to have them stuck on the right side. And to travel with either of those? Way too big!

but just my two cents. Everyone is different!

OP
ryevick

ryevick

Novation Impulse. Left side faders were a critical factor in deciding to get one. It's the only 61 key controller I've ever had that I really like. They make 49 too.
I'm also wondering if some of you have tried and like using a standard type keyboard controller and adding a peripheral controller on the side with everything else but keys, using them in tandem.

GtrString

Imo, ideally, you'd want a fully weighted controller for orchestral work. I've found those have a more natural response, and require less post editing.

Something like the M-Audio Hammer 88, Arturia Keylab 88 or NI Komplete Kontrol S88 Mk2. A (maybe used?) digital piano with midi and jogs would also do the trick.

Quasar

I'm also wondering if some of you have tried and like using a standard type keyboard controller and adding a peripheral controller on the side with everything else but keys, using them in tandem.
Besides being my 61 key "light action" keyboard controller, the Novation essentially performs this function for my 88 key Yamaha CP33.