What's new

Woodwinds vs brass volumes

Fermile

Geffen Studios
I was always interested on why does woodwinds in ff sounds much lower in volume than brass...

It is hard to hear all instruments in full orchestra, have to add some gain for ww section in order to hear it properly.

Would appreciate a good answer

Thanks

I am always in favour of experience vs ‘theory’.

Suggestion therefore:
I would say go stand next to a woodwind ( section) and then to brass ( section ) and you will know why.
Especially if you hear them going through the dynamic layers up to full ff(f)

Enjoy!

Mihkel Zilmer

I am not a physics expert.. but my understanding is that brass instruments are more efficient at projecting high harmonic partials and as a result they require less energy to produce the same amount of perceived volume.

Woodwinds = fewer high partials = more mellow and quieter, more easily hidden in an orchestral context. The tone of a flute is rather close to a sine wave - with few higher harmonic partials. Brass and strings have lots more higher partials.

That said, in a full symphonic context, you should not expect to hear every woodwind instrument well. When everyone in the orchestra is playing together, woodwinds are more of an added colour - you will notice when they are there, but won't necessarily hear each note they play clearly.

Another example - distortion, saturation or (harmonic) exciters are often added during mixing to make a sound seem louder. All that really does is add higher partials to the sound.

Again, not a physics expert, so maybe someone has a better answer?

Beat Kaufmann

I was always interested on why does woodwinds in ff sounds much lower in volume than brass...
It is hard to hear all instruments in full orchestra, have to add some gain for ww section in order to hear it properly.
Thanks
Hello Fermile