What's new

Why Software/Hardware Have A Positivity Bias

Markrs

Complete Beginner
If you watch or read reviews often you will find the majority are always positive and negative reviews are pretty rare.

Positive reviews are very beneficial to sales, this has been this way for a long time. This is why even "consumer" reviews are gamed on places like Amazon, where you might get sent a random item you didn't pay for, so that a positive review of the product can be posted on Amazon buy the purchaser.

The main issue is most reviewers get a copy of the software for free, or if hardware sometimes free, sometimes a "loaner" of the hardware. They will want to keep a good relationship with the company, especially if they are an advertiser, or have affiliated links to the product in the description.

In my view this creates 3 types of reviewer:

Type 1 (Positive Reviewers) - They will only reviews items they like and anything they don't like, they don't review or mention. They will often say this at beginnings of reviews, however this means all their reviews are positive.

Type 2 (Influencers) - These reviewers will often call themselves "influencers" and tend to review everything they are sent (sometimes they are also paid) and only find the positive in it and never comment on any shortfalls except occasionally in passing.

Type 3 (Purchasers) - They have normally bought the item themselves and so tend to be more honest. However it takes a lot of time to create a review, especially if it is a negative review. Negative reviews are when it is particularly bad, or not fit for a specific purpose.

The result of this is that you end up with a lot more positive reviews for everything, this asking with aggressive sales is a reason for GAS and the subsequent buyers remorse.