What is Reaper bad at?

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by ComposerWannabe, May 26, 2017.

  1. resonate

    resonate Member

    78
    7
    Sep 23, 2008
    Tack, that is amazing. Very well thought out, and totally coherent. Will need a while to digest and test this, as I have some work to do first, but will definately try it first thing in the next week... thank you very much!
     
  2. Grim_Universe

    Grim_Universe Active Member

    @tack
    Hi, Tack. I wonder if you have finished your work with expression maps.. And can you share it with us? Or any good alternatives?
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  3. ghostnote

    ghostnote Vincit qui se vincit.

    861
    304
    Nov 3, 2011
    "What is Reaper bad at?"

    Selling it.
     
    HammyHavoc and Saxer like this.
  4. tack

    tack Damned Dirty Ape

    2,398
    2,025
    Aug 3, 2013
    Not yet I'm afraid. I had hoped to have a beta out by now but then life found a way to keep me busy the past couple weeks. Still plugging along.
     
  5. I don't know if this is the right place to ask but has any of you ever encountered this bug?
    Everytime I try to add a point to the tempo map it adds another point after the time signature change and that messes up all of the MIDI tracks.

    At first, it started to do this when I was approaching the first time signature change of the piece.
    Then, I turned off and on the computer and I got past the first time signature change, to get blocked 3 minutes later on the next one.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JEPA

    JEPA Senior Member

    804
    480
    Mar 10, 2018
    Germany
    i know some video in internet or here in the forum explaining how to customise this... sorry but now i haven't the right information :scout:
     
  7. MartinH.

    MartinH. Senior Member

    763
    663
    Jun 16, 2018
    Most of the thread is from 2017, including the comment you quoted.


    But in case you still care, you can do this:


    upload_2019-3-13_2-6-17.png




    upload_2019-3-13_2-7-7.png


    And then you can draw lines with anchor points in the automation envelope for the modwheel slider of the ReaControlMidi plugin under the midi track (but not from the midi editor). I would rather work with the admittadly kinda clunky CC editing in the midi editor, but maybe this workaround would be more useful to you or someone else for something.
     
  8. A while ago, I would say the lack of ability to display and edit CC's in MIDI editor with curves and points is the biggest flaw of REAPER. But I've recently discovered fantastic CC editing tools created by Julian Sader. After some time of learning and practice, these became the standard part of my workflow, so if Cockos by some chance introduces MIDI editor that support CC curves at some point, I would perhaps find it even more cumbersome and non-intuitive to work with in comparison to editing of current CC steps using these scripts. But the developers should definitely offer similar functionality by default, not limited to drawing simple linear ramps. Also, trying to edit these CC events by freehand is a pain.

    In any case, I would be very happy to see some improvements in this department by the REAPER team in the future, but I also hope Mr. Sader will continue working on his tools too.
     
    aztic likes this.
  9. gregh

    gregh Senior Member

    1,107
    911
    Feb 1, 2015
    the devs are playing with this at the moment - might be 6 months before released but finally they are going to do curves. Has been huge resistance from a lot of the fan base for years so it is great seeig some action on that front
     
    TomislavEP, TheSigillite and MartinH. like this.
  10. MartinH.

    MartinH. Senior Member

    763
    663
    Jun 16, 2018
    Will that be an optional alternative way, or just a straight replacement of the old system? I'm asking because I got kinda used to freehand drawing the modwheel curve.
     
  11. gregh

    gregh Senior Member

    1,107
    911
    Feb 1, 2015
    dunno - Reaper tends to always keep old systems and add in options - but I am not sure that will be the case this time. I imagine it will be a clever solution as they are putting a bit of effort into it
     
    HammyHavoc and MartinH. like this.
  12. Rasmus Hartvig

    Rasmus Hartvig Active Member

    I too am skeptical about curves. It looks nice, but CCs are single events, and there are numerous times where it's most practical to visualize them like that so I do hope they keep the option around.
    My main gripe with the bars are that they are bulky and imprecise, so just a visual brush up to bring them up to date would do wonders. I like thin bars with at handle on top, but ideally the Reaper way would be to extend the theming possibilities of CC data.

    Julian Sader's CC manipulation scripts are indeed amazing, and are finally bringing the warping and stretching that's the only feature I've been missing from Cubase, to Reaper.
    In general, it feels like a good time to be a Reaper fan.
     
  13. Audio Birdi

    Audio Birdi Active Member

    251
    77
    Dec 28, 2012
    The devs have said that they're just sticking with the new system, as managing 2 at the same time will be cumbersome for CC editing :).
     
    gregh likes this.
  14. gregh

    gregh Senior Member

    1,107
    911
    Feb 1, 2015
    fine by me - I have argued for a curve based system for years
     
  15. Bansaw

    Bansaw Member

    115
    59
    May 12, 2018
    I use Reaper and think its wonderful. Its very well programmed and never even squeaked not matter how many tracks I lay down.
    What is Reaper "bad at" ? I would say the stock plugins. The user interfaces are awful. I encourage Cockos to employ a graphic designer.
    Also their default skin I find unattractive. Thank God for the Solaris skin!
     
  16. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon KSP Wizard

    6,104
    3,974
    May 25, 2010
    Croatia
    HammyHavoc likes this.
  17. gregh

    gregh Senior Member

    1,107
    911
    Feb 1, 2015
    Dewdman42 likes this.
  18. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon KSP Wizard

    6,104
    3,974
    May 25, 2010
    Croatia
    Yeah. Not nearly the same thing, although some good graphic designers are also good UX designers.
     
    HammyHavoc and Dewdman42 like this.
  19. artmanjam

    artmanjam New Member

    35
    10
    Nov 29, 2013
    Reaper has some nice features I don't have in Cubase. It's rather time consuming to setup so as to get a desired graphic interface. Stock plugins are... I don't know how to say that, let's say very, extremely basic and awful.

    That said, not talking about midi I didn't use, it has a couple of terrible features I couldn't figure out:

    - It looks like they wanted to re-invent computer thing. Since the early Mac ages, a simple & basic operation on a computer is selecting several files or folders by clic+drag mouse. 1+1=2. You have to be stuck to the 'Alt' key to do that here in Reaper. Can't understand this. This is a 'hundred times a day' action. Why not letting it as simple as it was?

    - The cursor/play management is Prehistorical, no way to have a true ffw or rew. Feeling so free when going back to Cub and ffw or rew with my console remote to the desired spot...

    - If ever you change from stereo balance to stereo pan, change width let's say to mono then, go back to stereo balance later, not paying attention: track stays mono now without letting you know it, unless you revert to stereo pan to check. Hopefully ears are there to alert...

    - The infinite item. Is there a way to avoid this? I know there's a setup to avoid sound to loop, hopefully. But this infinite item frame which doesn't stop at the end of the audio file, non sense. It's cool for a tempo based item but in any other case it's just doesn't make sense.

    That said, maybe I missed something so if ever anyone has a fix for these features, he'll be my saver!
     
  20. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon KSP Wizard

    6,104
    3,974
    May 25, 2010
    Croatia
    You obviously didn't give ReaFIR a shot. Or ReaGate :) Nothing awful about those.

    There's ways to jog or scrub with the edit cursor, and these actions can be assigned to MIDI CCs. If that's what you mean.

    AFAIK, no. But I can't see how would that be a dealbreaker.
     

Share This Page