What's new

WA-84 or Telefunken M60 Mics good for recording professional violinist?

D_wave27

Hello all,

I’m new here and looking to get some good mics to make some recordings of myself. I’m a professional violinist And am specifically interested in the WA-84 stereo set To record myself. I’ve heard good things and they seem more affordable than the Telefunken M60s which I also hear are great. Can anyone make a recommendation On these? Also looking at the apogee duet interface to use with these. Thanks in advance!

small world!

If I had unlimited resources I'd buy a pair of KM-84s and be done with it (pretty sure I've mentioned that before<G>).

Turns out my resources are limited.

I have a handful of good small capsule microphones that I like, including pairs of AKG C-61s, AKG C-451s, Audio Technica AT-4031s, and Earthworks SR-77s. These are all good microphones, each does some things really well, none of them are really good at everything.

My hunt continues, and right now I have a pair of WA-84s and a pair of M60s (both cardiod only) that I am evaluating. Again both really good microphones, and again they have their strengths.

Most of the time I am recording acoustic guitars, mandolins, and hand percussion. The M-60s work really well with my rosewood OM but get a little "boom-y" with both rosewood and mahogany dreadnaughts. The WA-84s sound really good with the dreads, but I feel like I am missing some of the details on the smaller guitar. The WA-84s win on the mandolins (one maple, one mahogany), the M-60s, and most of the rest make the mandolins (especially the maple) sound shrill.