VEPro 7 now available!

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by Ben, Feb 18, 2019.

  1. NYC Composer

    NYC Composer Senior Member

    11,126
    1,824
    Jul 24, 2008
    VEP has allowed me to keep working with my ancient Mac Pro and almost as ancient Mini slave while I wait for the Holy Grail from Apple, so if I find out VSL is in financial trouble I’ll definitely upgrade to 7. Ditto if it increases CPU efficiency even more.

    Otherwise, meh.
     
  2. steveo42

    steveo42 Active Member

    207
    101
    Jan 20, 2013
    Thank you Ben. That answers my questions!
    Take care!
     
  3. Olivier1024

    Olivier1024 Member

    80
    55
    Mar 21, 2018
    I got the answer from VSL and get a discount. It's only available if you own 4 or more VEP Pro licences .

    My advice if you own (and want to upgrade) 4 licences or more than 4 licences, ask VSL Sales <sales@vsl.co.at> to get a discount.
     
    tmhuud likes this.
  4. Pablocrespo

    Pablocrespo Active Member

    So. If you would like to upgrade and keep your 3 licenses you are stuck paying the same that you payed the first time you bought it.

    I tried very hard to get them to respond our concerns in their forum but got silence. It sure looks more and more like a money grab, it would seem that buying synchron stage was a dangerous move financially speaking.
     
  5. Rob Elliott

    Rob Elliott Senior Member

    Thanks - helpful - email off to them.
     
  6. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,675
    766
    Oct 28, 2016
    so discount for new users that only need one license. Discount for pros with large VEP networks...I didn't realize many people were even still doing that... But the hobbyist in the middle that is probably repurposing one or two old machines they have laying around as VEP servers to make some music....no love.
     
    EgM and Land of Missing Parts like this.
  7. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,675
    766
    Oct 28, 2016
  8. C-Wave

    C-Wave Senior Member

    930
    342
    Feb 27, 2016
  9. Dewdman42

    Dewdman42 Senior Member

    1,675
    766
    Oct 28, 2016
  10. Sorry I haven't kept up on this thread, but if you upgrade a single license from VEpro 6 to 7, can you still use the remaining 2 VE pro 6 licenses or do you loose them somehow?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Ben

    Ben Active Member

    346
    229
    Dec 22, 2017
    You can use even all three because you get a new separat license entry in the eLicenser.
    VEP 6 and 7 won't be able to connect to each other, but it is still unclear if they will work side by side.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2019
  12. artmanjam

    artmanjam New Member

    35
    10
    Nov 29, 2013
    To clarify a bit: you won't lose your v6 licenses, it's the way it always worked. I still have my useless v4 & v5 licenses here. License is one thing, installing/working is another.

    That said, if it works like it always did you won't be able to have both versions installed on one computer nore they won't communicate indeed. To make it clear, VEPro 4, 5 or 6 can't coexist (understand 'be installed') together on the same computer. As a reminder, the very same versions (upgrades AND updates) have to be installed on master/slave computers so as to communicate.

    Furthermore, remember we can't open a v6 saved project in v5. It means that you can go backwards from 7 to 6 and work with your 3 licenses then by uninstall/reinstall process but nothing guarantees you'll be able to open v7 project in v6.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2019
    Dewdman42 and rrichard63 like this.
  13. Lee Blaske

    Lee Blaske Senior Member

    Still not sure if I'll be using VEPro much at all if the next Mac Pro ever comes out, but I went over and checked out how much the upgrade and an additional license was going to be at Best Service, then after doing all the calculations, adding my best coins, etc., etc., it wasn't going to be that much, so I went ahead and ordered it. Should have moved on this sooner, though, to have the taiko. What am I going to do without that?? ;)

    I must admit that with these new developments from VSL (VEPro 7, Synchron), whatever OT is up to, whatever Spitfire is up to, the whole NKS thing, and how my life might be changed by going to one machine only with a new Mac Pro, I'm getting REALLY demoralized trying to figure out what my work-flow show be. I've also got MIR, and I never really exploited that the way I should. With VSL, I feel I'm floating in space between old ways of doing things, and new ways of doing things. Still haven't really warmed up to Synchron. I feel like all these things are pulling me in different directions, and I don't want greater and greater complexity. I don't want to be playing multi-dimensional chess all the time. And then, there's always the nagging worry of what to do when I need to access an old session. And the whole PITA when I do updates and everything has to validate everything else (several versions of VEPro, Logic, Machine, Komplete Kontrol, Maschine, Dorico and Finale). Updates often mean that everything needs to check everything else out. And the validation dance always seems to take place when I'm hoping to get some actual work done.

    ARGH!!!! I wish I'd never been born! (Well, maybe it's not quite that bad, but it's getting close. ;) )
     
  14. NYC Composer

    NYC Composer Senior Member

    11,126
    1,824
    Jul 24, 2008
    @Lee Blaske:

    As one of the greater proponents of the “steady state” style of thinking, I’m struggling along with my 2008 Mac Pro and a 2012 Mini slave. I haven’t upgraded Cubase since 2011-I’m on 6.02. In other words, I’m an industry nightmare. ;)

    Oh, I buy some libraries and do an upgrade here and there, but I hate the whole process of downloading, installing, authorizing, going through a zillion presets, blah blah blah. I just want to play and write. It’s really all I’ve wanted to to for over 50 years, and I find all of the tech stuff distracting and disheartening.

    At this point in my “career”, I’m just writing library tracks, doing an occasional little scoring job, arranging for a few clients and writing to please myself. If I was working at a higher and more demanding level with tight deadlines, I’d buy a big system, every new library that came out and pay an assistant or two to wrangle the whole mess, but it’s just not necessary for where I’m at, which I find to be a vast relief.

    Sure, I’ll be dragged upwards at some point. I’m stopped out at El Capitan unless I start hacking my Mac Pro.my plan is to hold out as long as possible. It’s been going okay so far.
     
    TigerTheFrog, Gaffable and kitekrazy like this.
  15. kitekrazy

    kitekrazy Senior Member

    2,212
    644
    Dec 23, 2008
    Some of the most productive people are in the same boat.
     
  16. NYC Composer

    NYC Composer Senior Member

    11,126
    1,824
    Jul 24, 2008
    I’m not selling the idea. I try to present it as another way of thinking.
     
  17. kitekrazy

    kitekrazy Senior Member

    2,212
    644
    Dec 23, 2008
    I just might use this with softsynths that use some resource hungry patches.
     
  18. artmanjam

    artmanjam New Member

    35
    10
    Nov 29, 2013
    I understand what you're saying. Speaking for myself I try to have my setup quite up to date. I left Mac world a long time ago for several reasons: more freedom (it can have a time cost) and avoid to be obliged to some change or I can't update this or that. I don't go the automatic softwares upgrade anymore, i think twice or more about before going to it. Do I really 'need' it?

    I recovered some lost envy and motivation with going to some vintage (or reedition) hardware and tape recorder. Computer display is a vampire for the ears. I just got a Lex 300L last week. I never found software reverbs convincing albeit I use some which work great. The feeling using the Lex is uncomparable. Pure pleasure. I quite never use software compressors as well. Moving 2 or 3 buttons on a hardware comp with closed eyes is another world.

    In a way I like to go back to longer time and it gives me some balance between the upgrade war and some serenity on the other part.
     
  19. garyhiebner

    garyhiebner Active Member

    405
    121
    Jan 3, 2015
    So when is VEPro7 gonna finally be available? I've put my order in but now I'm getting impatient ;)
     
  20. Guy Rowland

    Guy Rowland Senior Member

    5,303
    1,109
    Dec 13, 2012
    They've given no word as to a time frame. Could be tomorrow, could be next year. My rune-reading says it is not imminent, it sounds to me like they're still building it and the pre-order - especially with the Taiko bung - was a slightly desperate cashflow exercise. The troubling thing for me is they'd likely have generated more cash if they'd included a proper preview of VE Pro 7. For some reason they did not. Why else would they withhold information if there wasn't a chance that features might now work out and have to be dropped? Me thinks Epic Orchestra 2.0 was all ready to go some good time before VE Pro will be, and they needed the cash.

    Oh well. Until they release more concrete info, there's little more to say at the moment.
     
    DANIELE and artmanjam like this.

Share This Page