What's new

Trying to study Daphnis et Chloé

GREAT study piece. Oh, brings back memories. Can’t remember which performance/recordings I listened to most but there has to be several recorded since I studied it.

GREAT study piece. Oh, brings back memories. Can’t remember which performance/recordings I listened to most but there has to be several recorded since I studied it.

I’ve found this one on iTunes so I will buy this in a bit. Will be nice having on my iPhone anyway. Yeah, I’m trying to knuckle down on theory, Piano practise and I want to study some great music. So this is going to be what I study for a while. 1 bar at a time! Forever and ever and ever Danny!

FBBFFD1B-6AFE-4D1D-AE9F-92F6CE6D81E9.png

Gramaphone's 2018 award for best Orchestral Album went to Harmonia Mundi's recent recording:

Last edited:
Re the question raised in the first post of this thread about the Dover score and recordings, see what conductor François-Xavier Roth says at 2:30 in the video in the post above.

Sounds like there may be some differences between the Dover score and what one hears in recordings, certainly in the Harmonia Mundi recording.

Last edited:
I have the Pierre Boulez Recording the with New York Phil and I’ve yet to hear a better interpretation.

That kind of begs the question of what you've heard :)

By the way, François-Xavier Roth, in the video three posts up, talks about assisting Boulez, when he was a young conductor, on a performance of Daphnis and Chloé. He seems to share Boulez's lack of regard for the story.

Last edited:
That kind of begs the question of what you've heard :)

By the way, François-Xavier Roth, in the video three posts up, talks about working with Boulez on a performance of Daphnis and Chloë.