What's new

Trailer music ! But something seems off...

TheRealNerevar

Hello there, here is a track that i wrote in a few hours, i'm satisfied with some things that are happening in there, but there is something that seems a little weird, and i don't get what it is... If someone could help me, whether it be for composition, or arranging, or mixing or whatever bugs you 😉

I have to preface this that I'm a total amateur, and this is being said as merely a film watcher and soundtrack listener to, so take it with a shaker or two of salt. But I think the issue is - as you can even see by the SoundCloud visualisation - the track rises in a very linear way. That means that even with the gap in between, once the drop hits, it's expected, so it loses impact.

The mix quality isn't bad. The main thing that doesn't quite make this a trailer track is the structure and some edits that ultimately serve to create tension and a sense of building intensity. Your track also lacks a 'signature', (more about signatures below...) But this is the kind of track that may not need one necessarily... that said it's an important concept to understand if you're thinking of reaching out to trailer libraries at some point...

Structure: Trailer tracks tend to have a rigid structure which often to conform to blocks of time... Things generally happen in 'acts' and new acts tend to fall on 30 to 60 second intervals... (Roughly..) A classic trailer track has either 3 or 4 acts. (Intro, build, backend; or Intro, build, mid-section, backend). In both cases it's common for something from the intro or a signature to be teased at the end to create a sense of identity and closure. But that can vary depending on the album or library.

Ultimately a trailer track serves the editor/trailer house... If you watch a lot of trailers you'll notice full trailers are typically between 2:00 and 2:30, and musical changes (somewhat) often fall near 30-60 second intervals...