What's new

Torn about Brass/Woods libraries...

MarcHedenberg

So I've been composing for about 4-5 years now and it feels like I'm starting to hit a wall with what I can do with Brass and Woodwinds now that I've actually started scoring projects. Albion One is great for big epic sounds, but doesn't let me compose for instrument sections (plus, I don't personally like the mix of Woodwinds they've gone with). I've been compensating by using Symphony Essentials Brass and Woodwinds, but I don't exactly love their sound (got it with Kontakt Ultimate).

Which brings me to the announcement of the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Love the hall and the value for money is undeniable, not to mention the additional percussion I'd be getting out of it (I get a student discount too - yay?). But is that the smart way to go? I noticed I could alternatively get Spitfire Studio Strings and Woodwinds with the educational discount for a little over £230 - impressive savings there if you ask me.

The other part of me is tempted by Cinematic Studio Brass because, as an owner of CSS and CSSS, I love their sound and interface. Only thing holding me back from buying that library is the high price relative to the quantity of what I'd be getting: it's a smaller selection of brass and player count and caters to a very specific classical sound, which I absolutely adore, but I also don't want to limit myself.

What would you do in my shoes, any advice? I'm aware there's no fit-for-all-purposes library, but I'm just curious what others think.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
CSB goes like 1 dynamic above basically any other brass library aside from ark 1.

ill never not tell someone to get BWW - even if you end up using legacy.

CSB goes like 1 dynamic above basically any other brass library aside from ark 1.

ill never not tell someone to get BWW - even if you end up using legacy.