1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips for mixing EWQL Hollywood Orchestra (Beginner)

Discussion in 'Member's Compositions' started by DivingInSpace, Apr 11, 2018.

1. DivingInSpace

DivingInSpace Member

Feb 10, 2018
    Track:

https://clyp.it/xm4hel5z

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting my works here. I just recently started using East West Hollywood Orchestra Gold (and some of the other east west libraries from composer cloud (academic).

I could use some tips on mixing the Hollywood orchestra and on some sources for learning better orchestration and writing. I will be finishing my bachelor in musicology this summer, so I already know my theory.

Someone mentioned this earlier today: http://mikeverta.com/product/online-masterclass-orchestration-3-presets/
    Is this worth the money/a good starting point? Youtube channels, books etc on general orchestral writing and orchestration would be great!

Thanks a lot.

2. markleake

markleake Recovering sale addict

Nov 8, 2015
    Hi @DivingInSpace. For mixing, I think the best advice is to go find some well mixed tracks you like, and then match yours to them. You won't get it to sound the same, but you can at least get the levels and the reverb within a similar range. You don't need a course to learn how to do that. The next bit of advice is to practice and just keep trying again when the results disappoint.

The same can be said for orchestration and writing. It might sound a bit odd, but copying ideas from other people is how you learn. There are plenty of youtubers how who show you how their tracks are built also, so go watch some of them and try and copy them. If you know the theory, then the rest is just practicing.