The DAW you use and Velocity?

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by Tod, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    I would very much like to know which DAW you use, and how you adjust the midi velocities?

    Do you use Shortcut Keys, Toolbars, type them in with something like a "Properties" dialog, or have other ways?
     
  2. clisma

    clisma Active Member

    402
    167
    Apr 13, 2015
    I use Logic. The main way I alter velocities is through a macro that accesses the transform window presets I’v created, shifting velocities by 5 or 10 points in either direction. The macros are assigned to keyboard shortcuts.

    Another way I like to do it when it’s already in my hands, is by using the pencil on my iPad for MIDI editing. In that case, the auxiliary tool (activated by holding down the command key) is set to velocity. Works with just the mouse too, of course.

    If I played in something sloppily but like the feel and want to keep it, I rather “compress” the passage’s velocities. Macros for different settings tied to shortcuts as well.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Thanks a very much clisma, that helps a lot. I've created an instrument in Kontakt that depends on very precise velocities, which is why I'm asking here, and I don't think you would have any problems at all with it.

    I hope others will chime in with the DAWs they use, and how they manipulate their velocities. :)
     
  4. Wolfie2112

    Wolfie2112 Senior Member

    I use both Logic pro and Cubase, and use the PRV to adjust velocities to individual or groups of notes.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Thanks Jeremy, does that make it easy to apply individual velocities?
     
  6. Nick Batzdorf

    Nick Batzdorf Moderator

    15,101
    2,352
    Sep 14, 2004
    Los Angeles
    I use the velocity tool in Logic - select the note(s) and use the velocity tool to raise or lower them, either scaled or linearly.

    But the real answer is that I try and play them in right to start with. It's usually only the odd note that needs its velocity changing - and I'm a keyboard-as-tool player, not a real keyboard player.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Thanks Nick, so if it was pertinent to adjust the individual velocities after you played them in, to exact precise values, would that be very easy, somewhat easy, or not very easy?
     
  8. anp27

    anp27 Active Member

    291
    75
    Jul 13, 2014
    I too use Logic X and I too have assigned custom MIDI Transform presets to custom key commands. I have a pair of commands that increases/decreases velocities by 10 and another pair that increases/decreases velocities by 1. The ability to assign MIDI Transform presets to key commands (sadly, only up to 30 of them) was HUGE, now they just need to let us assign more of them... at least up until 99 maximum.
     
  9. jonnybutter

    jonnybutter Active Member

    302
    133
    Jun 13, 2016
    I also use LPX and macros, or the velocity compressor, which is super handy and I use it all the time
     
  10. anp27

    anp27 Active Member

    291
    75
    Jul 13, 2014
    Logic doesn't have macros though?
     
  11. jonnybutter

    jonnybutter Active Member

    302
    133
    Jun 13, 2016
    Are you asking or are you stating? You can write your own macros in LXP.
     
  12. anp27

    anp27 Active Member

    291
    75
    Jul 13, 2014
    I am stating. Logic does not have a "Macros" feature in the way that Cubase does. Could you give an example of what you're referring to when you said "You can write your own macros in LXP"?
     
  13. jonnybutter

    jonnybutter Active Member

    302
    133
    Jun 13, 2016
    Sorry, not 'macros' in the Cubase sense. I guess I was using the term generically. Key commands and the MIDI scripter are what I was talking about.
     
  14. anp27

    anp27 Active Member

    291
    75
    Jul 13, 2014
    Right.

    Interested in how you're using the MIDI Scripter here. Could you please give an example?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Thanks anp27 and jonnybutter, so you guys use Logic too. If I may, I'd like to ask you the same question I asked Nick Batzdorf.

    If it was pertinent to adjust the individual note velocities to an "exact precise value", after you played them in or got them in some other way, would that be very easy, somewhat easy, or not very easy?
     
  16. gsilbers

    gsilbers Part of Pulsesetter-Sounds.com

    6,406
    1,032
    Oct 5, 2008
    Los Angeles
    in logic is super easy. you can do individual notes by holding down the right mouse botton and move the mouse up or down to changes the velocity. (if cursor tool is set this way).

    Or for a group of notes you can select the transform tool and write down the velocity desired and it changes all of them. this transform tool also can be key command assignable.

    also, if precision is important, you can also add a midi processor plugin in the channel you are playing so anyway you play it its always the same velocity sequencing.
    I use this a lot since i use a lot lot midi guitars and these are terrible with velocity. so the midi plugin adjusts so i don't play above or below a certain midi velocity range like 50-80. or 55-60. depending on the instrument.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Thanks Guillermo, it sounds like you Logic folks shouldn't have any problems with my velocities, and that's good news.

    Ha ha, now I wonder about other DAWs. :)
     
  18. clisma

    clisma Active Member

    402
    167
    Apr 13, 2015
    Hm. While I agree that it wouldn’t be terribly difficult to achieve a specific velocity value, I most definitely don’t want to have to do it. We do enough editing as it is and it’s a workflow killer. Are you talking about a range rather than specific values perhaps? If so, then moving in broader strokes would at least be somewhat faster...
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Tod

    Tod Senior Member

    Hi clisma, I suppose it might help if I explain my reasons. I've created a Pedal Steel Guitar instrument in Kontakt, and each of the 10 strings occupy a certain part of the 127 velocities. I think it's best that you hear what I'm doing, before I proceed to explain how the velocities work.


    This tutroial explains a lot about the velocities.


    This tutorial is not finished and probably won't be used, but it explains more about how the velocities play a roll.


    Hopefully if you've check those videos out, you'll understand my reasons for making this thread, and how important it is for me to understand how the various DAWs can deal with these velocities. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018
    d.healey likes this.
  20. anp27

    anp27 Active Member

    291
    75
    Jul 13, 2014
    Very easy in Logic. Use the Velocity Processor MIDI FX plugin, "Value/Range" mode then just set the exact Value you want.
     

Share This Page