What's new

String Quartet no. 1 (Classical style, midi mockup, CSSS)

I am an absolute newbie, so please take my opinion with a mountain of salt.

My opinion: the composition is beautiful, but the recording lacks dynamics (just look at the waveform). This means either the velocities are too similar, or you over compressed while mixing.

I hope this helps. :)

My opinion: the composition is beautiful, but the recording lacks dynamics (just look at the waveform). This means either the velocities are too similar, or you over compressed while mixing.

Although I didn’t design too wide dynamics for this piece, it could still be a development point, thank you! The next step is to make a sheet music from the midi, then I have to collect a bunch of money and finally find a quartet to record it. :)

Original composition for string quartet, recorded with Cinematic Studio Solo Strings.

What do you think?
Thanks for listening :)

Hi Adam - excellent composition and excellent programming/execution. I actually found the dynamics very good, both for the expression in the individual instruments as well as the quartet overall. Great for an andante passage; an adagio section might need more dynamics. May I ask how long it took you to program? Thanks very much for sharing!

Hi Adam - excellent composition and excellent programming/execution. I actually found the dynamics very good, both for the expression in the individual instruments as well as the quartet overall. Great for an andante passage; an adagio section might need more dynamics. May I ask how long it took you to program? Thanks very much for sharing!
Thank you, Rhys!
It took a long time, I also took a lot of breaks because I got stuck composing several times.
This is common anyway.