What's new

String libraries that control dynamics with key velocity instead of CC

wsalembi

Hi, I'm really new to this. Do all the string libraries control dynamics with the mod wheel? Isn't there a way to control it just with key velocity. E.g. for when you play two-handed during a live performance?

Any string libraries that can do that?

You can usually change the setting to velocity if you want. That works well for short notes, but usually gives strange results with long notes, like some notes unintentionally sticking out as being to loud or too soft.

Thought they're solo instruments, Bohemian Violin and Cello do this. A lot of older orchestral libraries use key velocity for dynamics as well - East West Symphonic Orchestra, for example.

Hi, I'm really new to this. Do all the string libraries control dynamics with the mod wheel? Isn't there a way to control it just with key velocity. E.g. for when you play two-handed during a live performance?

I have most of the string libraries out there. Some you can change to velocity but others not.

Here is a few of the ones that it is possible to control sustains and legato patches with velocity and the Mod wheel. You can switch it from Mod wheel to velocity by changing a setting in each interface.

1. All Vienna libraries
2. All Orchestral Tools libraries incl. Berlin Strings, Berlin Aspire and Metropolis Ark 1&2
3. All Kirk Hunter libraries
4. Cinestrings Core
5. Symphobia 1+2
6. Old Eastwest Symphonic orchestra has velocity patches
7. Miroslav Philharmonic 1+2 and Miroslav String Ensembles
8. Omnisphere (Hollywood Studio String Section patch and Mod wheel applies Eq)

Here are some libraries where it isn’t possible to control sustain and legato dynamics with velocity.

1. All Spitfire string libraries
2. Cinematic Studio Strings
3. Cinematic strings 2
4. LA Scoring Strings (legato patches)
5. Soaring Strings
6. Ni String Ensemble
8. All 8Dio string libraries
9. United Strings of Europe
10. Hollywood Strings