Spitfire Audio - Kepler Orchestra - Available NOW

Discussion in 'COMMERCIAL Announcements' started by Spitfire Team, May 15, 2019.

  1. midiman

    midiman Active Member

    346
    288
    May 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    @SpitfireSupport Can you shed some light on this? Is there more than one dynamic layer? Are there "At the edge of Silence" patches, where it was actually played very softly? What I hear in the demos sounds great but more directed at Mf type of material.
     
    anderslink likes this.
  2. Soundhound

    Soundhound Senior Member

    3,625
    1,040
    Feb 13, 2011
    Has anyone tried Kepler Orch in VEP? That often allows me to use CPU hungry instruments I otherwise would have to freeze.
     
  3. n9n9n9

    n9n9n9 Member

    118
    165
    Apr 26, 2017
    Still can't banish the pops and clicks. I'm not seeing terrible CPU or disk spikes when isolating the lib in a project only playing one note at a time. I've tried a variety of buffer sizes as Spitfire support didn't offer a suggestion. IT happens with the attack very high medium or low. A click instantly upon keydown but no other artifact. It feels strange as Ive never had this issue with any of the other SA libraries I use (I have more than half of their offering.)

    Anyone else?
     
  4. D Halgren

    D Halgren Senior Member

    863
    727
    May 6, 2017
    Portland, OR
    I'm checking on my system on Ableton and it's fine. Do you have multiprocessor support off by any chance? I have mine set to 8 cores, but I have a pretty beefy iMac Pro.
     
  5. D Halgren

    D Halgren Senior Member

    863
    727
    May 6, 2017
    Portland, OR
    In kontakt, not Live, although I don't think there is an option to in Live anymore.
     
  6. prodigalson

    prodigalson Senior Member

    1,669
    1,076
    Nov 14, 2013
    Unfortunately, the issues with CPU load are unsurprising to me. Anything Spitfire has built that uses Time Machine has been hugely problematic for me (and, it seems, many others). Glass and Steel, Solo Strings Total Performance Patch etc etc.

    I’m running a pretty good system with a heavy template including total Berlin Series and many other heavy libraries and nothing gives me problems like Spitfires forays into libraries that rely heavily on time machine
     
    sostenuto likes this.
  7. givemenoughrope

    givemenoughrope Senior Member

    1,596
    446
    Aug 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    Curious, do the clicks happen more often the further away the sample is from its original BPM or just across the board, even just a TM patch sitting at 0% changed?

    Also curious about the dynamic range.
     
  8. thesteelydane

    thesteelydane Senior Member

    691
    1,028
    Apr 9, 2015
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    I don’t have the library, but keep in mind that for long articulations it’s normal to have the entire sample of each dynamic layer covering the whole velocity range of 0-127, otherwise you can’t cross fade between them. You have to look at the groups to see how many dynamic layers there are.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  9. fiestared

    fiestared Vintage -but- not obsolete

    951
    471
    Aug 18, 2013
    France
  10. I think I can do better by messing with kontakt but working fairly well here now. One mic position, quantize off (quantize was actually getting in the way)
    Wanted to also say beautiful library!
    Besides all the intricate off timing stuff you can do, the phrasing breathes naturally when you wish to keep things a bit more traditional, the tone is also warm...really liking this. Kepler can go really deep and i'm looking forward to what I do next, what ever that is.
     
    sostenuto and midiman like this.
  11. Alex Fraser

    Alex Fraser Senior Member

    1,090
    1,508
    Jun 21, 2017
    UK
    Apologies if this has been mentioned before - but is the orchestra recorded "in situ" like other Spitfire libraries for instant mix gratification? Thanks - A
     
  12. midiman

    midiman Active Member

    346
    288
    May 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    @Craig Sharmat , Would love to know what you think of the dynamic range of it. On the demos it sounds like the library lives better at MF dynamics and above. I am interested to know if it does well very soft dynamics like PP and the like. Or as Spitfire likes to call it "At the edge of Silence". Thanks!
     
  13. angeruroth

    angeruroth Member

    132
    145
    Dec 11, 2014
    If Keple's behavior is anything like the demos, I'd say it can work nicely at the edge of silence.
    I just made an experiment, copying two instances of the demo and changing the sound samples, one with BDT strings and the other with Tundra super sul.
    The result is better than I anticipated.
    Here the track naked with just those two instruments:

     

    Attached Files:

    Zedcars, idematoa, CGR and 1 other person like this.
  14. Soundhound

    Soundhound Senior Member

    3,625
    1,040
    Feb 13, 2011
    I was wondering about this Kontakt/Time Machine cpu hog issue and tried a few different TM/Kontakt hungry patches (some Afflatus TMpatches, SF Glass&Steel, that new Sample Logic Modern Animated Percussion) and I'm wondering if the people here experiencing the problems are in Logic? I am, and found that in Cubase (10) and Studio One (4.5) the cpu usage is way less with these kinds of patches. I hadn't used either of these DAWs in a while, but have been getting up to speed with them recently (dunno why, seemed like a good idea in case Apple decides to only sell $20k Macs from here on out).
     
  15. fiestared

    fiestared Vintage -but- not obsolete

    951
    471
    Aug 18, 2013
    France
    I am in Logic and don't have "clicks" for the moment :2thumbs:, I must say I have an iMac Pro:emoji_heart_eyes:
     
  16. FYI, Spitfire just advised me against getting Kepler Orchestra since I would have issues running it on my 2012 iMac with 32gb of RAM (maximum allowed). I suggested they provide some sort of information about this on their website page so buyers don't run into this after purchasing. I was hoping to squeeze more life out of my iMac, drat.
     
    John Claus and Wally Garten like this.
  17. givemenoughrope

    givemenoughrope Senior Member

    1,596
    446
    Aug 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    Bummer. I was going to purchase soon but my machine is a 2012 MBP. So, even just using one mic position at a time will still choke it? Even if it’s choking on half a dozen voices it’s not a showstopper since I would probably print each voice like I do the evos.
     
  18. Soundhound

    Soundhound Senior Member

    3,625
    1,040
    Feb 13, 2011
    I have a 2012 iMac w/32 gig, (i7 3.46). I just downloaded the library and patches do choke, so I'm using it in VEP6 and that seems to be fine. It can get up to 80% spikes in the VEP instance, but so far seems ok. I'll try it in a track soon and report back to base.



     
    Wally Garten and givemenoughrope like this.
  19. Good to know. I'll look forward to hearing your experience with it.
     
    Soundhound likes this.
  20. John Claus

    John Claus Member

    55
    10
    Oct 28, 2017
    What are the specs of the system you're running? I'm trying to figure out what I'd need to really make it work in full. I have an old but solidly upgraded Mac Pro w/ 12 core 3.33 Intel Xeon processing/64G RAM/OS Sierra 10.12.6 (but moving to Mojave soon)/Pro Tools 12.7 (but moving to 2019)/and a separate 2T SSD sounds drive. With Kepler's quantize feature off, only one mic on, and the Pro Tools buffer set at 1024, I can play 4 notes simultaneously smoothly, without any hesitation in the attack, but with 5 note clusters things start getting sketchy. With 6 or more, the front ends of all notes are clipped off and it's unuseable. I wish I could go to 128 GB of RAM -- maybe that would help -- but I can't. Also, at the direction of Spitfire tech support today, I did 2 things. 1) I turned on the memory buffer in Kontakt and made the size 18KB, and 2) I did a batch resave. These things didn't help, though. I'd really love to use Kepler to its fullest, and I assume that somewhere (at least in a system at Spitfire??) it's running smoothly. If so, what does it take? Thanks for any insight...
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
    Wally Garten likes this.

Share This Page