What's new

Slave: why you should have one? :)

reset85

Hi everyone,

totally frustrated in trying to decide how to upgrade my current DAW. Totally newbie also, wanting to understand more, so any link is much appreciated!

What is a slave computer and why an ITB soundtrack composer should have one? I'm now (happily) running an Hackintosh but it's time for me to move to PT 12 and a thunderbolt audio interface.

Let's say you ave 2k € as budget: Mac Pro (trashcan or old)? New Hackintosh? Mac mini + Slave (how does it work?!)?

Thanks a lot for you help.

mc_deli

n trepreneur
If you are a total newbie then you should read up about VE Pro. I'll wager 99% of composers using slaves are using VE Pro on the slave machine(s).

My understanding is it's all about voice count. When you need more voices, you need more CPU power and more RAM, and when you can't fit more power/RAM into your main machine, you need a slave.

The overwhelming answer about "what slave" you are are going to get here is: get an i7 PC.
VE Pro works on Mac/PC and 32/64 bit. VE Pro on your slave. Connects via ethernet to your main machine. Elegant. Brilliant cross platform solution. Takes some setting up of course but works great. The preserve feature is king.

Buying a slave means buying as much power as possible for the money. Trashcan is not a slave and a 6 core is what 4k plus at least? Cheese grater Mac Pro 2010 onwards is a great machine (no TB). Mac Mini 4 core 16GB from 2012 is also good value.
The 2010 MP is a great buy as a main machine (check createpro - will still set you back 3k+ for a serious set up with 48GB+). The Mac Mini if portability is a real issue. The only real justification for a Mac slave is if you already have the machine or if you have a windows phobia.

But on price/performance you get so much more from a PC. Search the DAW forum here for lots of builds/parts.

Saxer