Sketching orchestra-Vienna smart or Red room palette?

Discussion in 'SAMPLE Talk' started by Rey, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Rey

Rey Active Member

Apr 1, 2017
    Hi. I am looking to get either of this. I only have strings library and no woodwinds/solo strings/brass. Hopefully with the included woodwinds and brass in either of this will help the missing part. And im also not going to go do eastwest sub thing. Until I have the budget to get the full woodwinds and brass , I feel like I should get either of this. Also for quick sketch and inspiration. Im just a hobbyist. So nothing is for commercial. Just fun and nice sounds.

What would you suggest. Any recommendation appreciated.

I also already have a Steinberg key.

Thanks

2. ceemusic

ceemusic Active Member

Dec 14, 2008
    New York area
    Rey likes this.
  3. ScoreFace

ScoreFace Active Member

Nov 21, 2018
    Are you looking for single nkis for each orchestral instrument group or do you like mixed orchestral sounds as well?

I like starting my compositions with a few big mixed ensemble sounds, like full low brass or high stacc string ensemble - working like this, it is easier for me to get my ideas sketched quickly. I'm using patches from The Orchestra mainly, as it is the easiest way for me to realize an idea.

Berlin Inspire could be interesting for you as well.

Rey, sostenuto and TheSigillite like this.
  4. Shiirai

Shiirai Resident Crow

Oct 11, 2018
    Hm. That would depend on what your budget actually is.

When I made that decision, I went with Palette, but it was on sale and I got the Melodics Pack as well. I love it and I know of all the choices I could've made this was the right one. The base pack has a good amount of different instruments (more than you would find in other, similar packages), the main orchestra is clear and dry and it comes with 4 mic positions. The dryness will make it easier to eventually layer the library. You'll need a decent reverb though, or use the internal one.