What's new

Short film / scoring to picture QUICK TIPPS

Bluemount Score

Hi together,
I'm starting to compose the soundtrack for a short film tomorrow.
It's my first time writing music to picture.

Regardless of genre and style, do you have any quick but useful tips? Did you make any mistakes when starting out that you could mention, or general workflow things?

In my case, it's a bigger project of me and a couple of friends, so there's no money or extrem deadlines involved. Still I'm curious what you got.

JeffvR

Have a good spotting session before you start to compose any music. Have a good concept. Search for music that might fit the film and get inspired by it. Take a couple of days or weeks to do all this, don't compose anything yet! Take your time, it will make the process of writing way faster and easier. Create a theme or themes that sets the general mood of the film. Try to make them adaptable so they work in different tempos, different keys, moods etc. Set a tempo before you start to compose to each cue. Fill in the dots and you're done.

Andrew Goodwin

Both maybe not entirely necessarily for a short film, but
-Have a spotting session with the Director and write down the notes. That way your brain doesn't scramble them
-get a cut of the film with timecode burned in. It makes it so much easier to pinpoint what your communicating about, when they have notes for you.

Montisquirrel

Different people, different workflow.

I would never ever start a new score with listening to music made by other composers, only if I really get stuck or when the director has a clear idea about the music and it is something I have never done before (like one job that I did which was about Klezmer Music... so I listened to this kind of style at Youtube to get a feeling for it and studied some of its scales)