What's new

Samsung 4tb evo vs qvo

Studio E

Eric Watkins
This last weekend’s sales did me in on drive space. My 2TB SSD is full and my other sample drive is a 7200 for smaller, less used libraries.

I only know enough to be dangerous, and not enough to know if there is a significant difference for the purpose of sample streaming. Any thoughts from the hard drive-literate?

Hadrondrift

The QVO models have very bad writing speed, can be even slower than a HDD at long sequential writes. Usually, I would avoid them as a system drive. BUT as big storage for sample data, where you write once and read often, I think they can be an inexpensive alternative to the EVOs. I have no personal experience with the QVOs, though.

Last edited:

el-bo

When life gives you lemons, swap 'em for mangos
If you widen the net a little, Crucial ssd can be had for very good prices.

Fry777

I have a 4Tb EVO and a 4Tb QVO with some libraries on each and I see no difference when using samples. The notable difference is in warranty length (5 years (EVO) vs 3 (QVO) ) and when writing massive files to the SSD (not typical when composing) as @Hadrondrift said.

heisenberg

having uncertain feelings
I have a 4Tb EVO and a 4Tb QVO with some libraries on each and I see no difference when using samples. The notable difference is in warranty length (5 years (EVO) vs 3 (QVO) ) and when writing massive files to the SSD (not typical when composing) as @Hadrondrift said.
Same experience. QVO has been fine for me along with the EVOs I have. No appreciable difference in use with samples.

wst3

Lunatic - it's really that simple
I have used different drives from both Samsung and Crucial. All my sample drives are MX500s, I went with them for price, warranty, and performance. In the real world (or as close as my world comes) I have seen no difference between the MX500 and different Samsung models.

My criteria, since I am about to upgrade a 1TB sample drive to 2TB: