1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re-assigning "Dynamics" slider to velocity, in Spitfire libraries?

Discussion in 'SAMPLE Talk' started by yeloop, Oct 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. yeloop

yeloop Member

Jun 4, 2017
    Hi guys

I'm new to the Spitfire libraries, and have just purchased Spitfire Symphonic Strings, Brass, Woodwind, etc. I have worked out how to map the articulations to various controllers.

However, for most of the legato string patches, the "dynamics" value is pre-mapped to the mod wheel.
    I am wondering if it's possible re-assign the dynamics slider for these patches so that dynamics respond to velocity instead of (or even as well as... to allow for swells during sustained notes) just the mod wheel?
    I've worked out how to de-assign it from the mod wheel, but can't figure out how to assign velocity.

If you're a Spitfire user and you can help me out, I'd appreciate it!

Cheers
    Mike

2. MatFluor

MatFluor Senior Member

Jan 11, 2017
    Switzerland
    Not that I know of - you can assign it to every CC you've got anywhere - but e.g. the Legato is most often linked with the Velocity - lower velocities trigger glissandi/portamenti, high velocites faster transitions (speaking Performance Legato). So in that sense - it wouldn't make too much sense reassigning it.

So, no - it's not possible, except you add a separate KSP script which translates Velocities to CC Values

3. MatFluor

MatFluor Senior Member

Jan 11, 2017
    Switzerland
    I quickly hacked together a Multiscript for that - it translates the incoming velocity into a CC value. You can still use the Modwheel or whatever other Controller you have (as you said, e.g. crescendi etc.).

Edits: Code optimizations - now it's pretty concise

Code:
    on init
        declare $velocity
        declare ui_knob $ccnum (0,127,1)
        set_text($ccnum, "CC")
        make_persistent ($ccnum)
    end on
    on midi_in