What's new

"Crucible" - Church Organ Freebie

Nils Neumann

Hey Composers out there, this is my first attempt to create a VI, a Church Organ. This is a free Kontakt instrument, if you are not interested in the background story, just scroll down to the download Link;)

„Behind the VI“

A few months ago I was very curious how I can create my own sample library, most of us know the theory: rr, mic-position, scripting, seamless loops, dynamic layers, etc. So I tried to sample an acoustic guitar in my little studio. Pretty simple stuff, with only 1 note with 3 dynamic layers, 3 round-robins and 1 mic. Probably the shitiest VI which I have ever witnessed. The whole process of recording those samples and combining them with a sample player taught me a lot about professional Libraries and how to use them.
So I thought I step it up and go for the biggest Instrument I know, the Organ (yes, I was inspired by the Interstellar soundtrack).

The Recording Session:

I asked a local church for permission and we were allowed to use it for 8 hours. A good friend of mine, a studio owner, helped me out with all the equipment and the mic placing on-site. It took us 3 hours to get everything ready and realize how this organ thing works. We even found some Neumann microphones in the church, which happen to be the main mics for this library. The Important lesson I learn from the recording step is to take your time. I was so overwhelmed with all the different possibilities that I was a bit in a hurry to get everything done, but in the end, only the patches with enough recording time made it to a finished patch.