Pro Tools & Cubase V.I. tracking question

jaketanner

Hi all,

So I have a question as to what methods you guys use to track your MIDI within PT and Cubase. I am new to Cubase so I only know about rendering the MIDI tracks, but in PT, my preferred method is to set up a bus output into a stereo audio track...I find It sounds closest to the original. In a pinch, I have also done the drag and drop from MIDI track to Audio track...but don't 100% trust this method to be identical to the original...I have yet to really use the commit feature.

What methods do you all use?

Thanks.

Havoc911

I just insert an instrument track and record. The only time I worry about bouncing to audio is when I prepare to mix. I export the individual tracks I need for mixing and then import them into a new session.

Having switched to Cubase from Pro Tools years ago, I think you'll find that you don't need to employ most of the tricks you found necessary with PT.

OP
jaketanner

jaketanner

I just insert an instrument track and record. The only time I worry about bouncing to audio is when I prepare to mix. I export the individual tracks I need for mixing and then import them into a new session.

Having switched to Cubase from Pro Tools years ago, I think you'll find that you don't need to employ most of the tricks you found necessary with PT.
For now I am mixing in Pro Tools and don’t see that part changing. However this one session is older and happens to be in PT still. Once I have my template complete with VEP then I’ll start rendering in Cubase. So you just do an export of the Instrument track? I thought most people have MIDI routes to a stem track for tracking.

Havoc911

So you just do an export of the Instrument track? I thought most people have MIDI routes to a stem track for tracking.