What's new

Please help me choose an optimal M-AUDIO Axiom replacement

TomislavEP

I'm using M-AUDIO Axiom 49 in my studio for more than ten years now. I also have Studiologic SL-990 Pro - as a pianist, I cannot do without a weighted-action 88 keys controller, but for everything else, I prefer to have something like the Axiom. However, lately I've been experiencing more and more issues with it - the mod wheel gives me jerky data output in the 15-30 range, and the keyboard also sometimes sends "fantom CC data", which is noticeable by random numbers changes on the display. I could also do with a bit more real-estate on this secondary controller, so I would like to switch to a 61 keys version at the same time.

Basically, here are the things I'm looking for:
  • 61 keys
  • a decent non-fully weighted action with aftertouch
  • sustain and expression pedal ports
  • faders, knobs, and pads
  • relatively small footprint - total length abt. 1000 mm would be ideal
  • solid integration with REAPER, Komplete, and Kontakt libraries
  • relatively affordable price
Based on my research so far, these are three possible candidates:
  • Novation Impulse 61
  • Nektar Panorama T6
  • M-AUDIO Code 61
Unfortunately, they all have a few downsides in my book, which is why I need some help and guidance to make the final decision. Impulse looks like a solid all-rounder, but it is a bit large in size and might not fit my current and future desk. M-AUDIO seems like a no-brainer Axiom replacement, but I've read mixed opinions on its construction. I'm also not sure will the pads situated below the pitch and mod wheels greatly interfere with my workflow. The Panorama seems like the best compromise, but it costs more than the other two and I'm still not sure is it worth it.

So, if anyone has experience with all these controllers, I would appreciate your insights. Thanks.