• Intermediate

Votes: 64 57.1%
  • Confident Pro

Votes: 30 26.8%
  • Pianist - Concert Level

Votes: 5 4.5%

• Total voters

3DC

As a beginner I wonder how good are you guys in actual playing of piano and how essential - or not is this skill in your every day music production.

Thanks for feedback.

Monkey Man

Charitable Hack
I'm a hack.

Thanks to the ability to edit MIDI 'though, I firmly believe that all you need is a good ear.

EDIT:
There needs to be a "Beginner" category IMHO. Going from "Piano Roll Only" to "Intermediate" makes no sense.

Had the option been there, I'd have chosen it 'cause I don't rate myself as being intermediate.

Last edited:

Shiirai

Avian Member
I'm currently very much focussing on my Piano/Keyboard skills (You need a level between 'Piano Roll Only' and 'Intermediate') and I'm noticing a very real skill increase all across the board.

Granted, Piano skills do not only consist of pressing white and black keys. There's quite a bit of theory, sight-reading and experiencing different types of music and progressions to go along with it.

Tim_Wells

Tim Wells
I'm several years into learning piano/keys after being a life long guitar player. I barely ever pick up my guitar now days. Mainly cause there's not enough time to practice both instruments. That's kind of sad.

I guess I'm an intermediate. But often I'm back in the piano roll editing my parts. I can sound like a confident pro on easy pieces... or for a few measures on tougher parts. :)

I never realized how easy I had it with the guitar. On the keyboard, your left and right hands can be playing two completely different parts.

It's the quickest way to get your ideas down - it would be very hard to try and articulate something in my head by jabbing notes in one-by-one with the mouse before I forgot the idea! Definitely recommend playing piano as much as possible - there's a reason playing in a piano guide track and orchestrating out from that is so popular.

Shiirai

Avian Member