What's new

Overall mixing and mastering

marky7400

Hey All

I am still beginning my journey as an orchestral composer and have trouble with getting the overall mix and content as accurate as I would like it. I am working through a few courses in production and composition for orchestra and wondered if anyone could listen to my track here and give me more pointers.

Please be kind as I am starting out and understand my harmonic progressions may need work here, but I am also looking for advice on mastering and mixing to get the correct levels etc. This mix is unmastered

thanks a lot

Mark

JohnG

Hi Marky,

It's not a terrible mix. That said, if you want "big" you have some homework to do to get there not just mix-wise but compositionally as well. One way to try tackling this is to really listen carefully -- both through headphones and with speakers -- to some existing piece you admire in the genre and see if you can mock it up so it sounds exactly like the original -- as close as possible. How much reverb (yours sounds dry to me)? How far away do the players appear to be sitting from you? What is the range of the brass, the strings? Do you double the bass with a synth down an octave? Does everyone play all the time together or are some sections used as ornamentation for climaxes? Are the percussionists playing "real loud" -- hitting the drums hard -- or does it just feel "big" because you're hearing a lot of large percussion in a big room?

Compositionally, it sounded a lot more interesting to me up to about 1'00" when you added the drums and "Hans Zimmer" stuff, then after that section it comes back to something interesting. Then the end sounds like another effort to bring off someone else's ideas.