What's new

New Synth suggestions

NateVH

Hey guys I'm looking to pick up a new synth but I'm not sure which one to get. What I want is a synth mainly for underscoring (I think thats the right term) for pads, drones, and rhythmic stuff to sit under the orchestra. Something like at the 7:00 minute mark a synth comes in with the string ostinati (there are a million examples but this is the only one I could find easily).

I've been looking at Zebra but I just want to make sure it will do what I need it to. The second thing I want to mention is that I'm not a synth expert by any stretch. I know basic waveforms types and very basic LFO stuff but I would like a library that is easy to use and get a good sound out of but would also help me learn synth sound design. Any opinions and suggestions are appreciated!

Zebra has a steeper learning curve but that pays out later, its not so much for fast results because there are plenty of ways for the same stuff. You need and should learn the whole thing to use its potential…which takes a while.

Pigments or similar for fast results that are easier to follow, but lack some fidelity.

Hey guys I'm looking to pick up a new synth but I'm not sure which one to get. What I want is a synth mainly for underscoring (I think thats the right term) for pads, drones, and rhythmic stuff to sit under the orchestra. Something like at the 7:00 minute mark a synth comes in with the string ostinati (there are a million examples but this is the only one I could find easily).

I've been looking at Zebra but I just want to make sure it will do what I need it to. The second thing I want to mention is that I'm not a synth expert by any stretch. I know basic waveforms types and very basic LFO stuff but I would like a library that is easy to use and get a good sound out of but would also help me learn synth sound design. Any opinions and suggestions are appreciated!