What's new

Musician Release Form

goalie composer

Hi all,

Does anyone have or can point me in the direction of a release form that can be used for musicians when recording for film? Preferably it would be some kind of a buyout and protect the composer / production company. Any insight is appreciated. Thanks!

GC

I'm not sure how magic the document is; if you're in Canada I would bet people would recoil from the lengthy screeds common in the USA.

When I wrote cartoon music for Disney, they made us sign (and have notarised) a separate, half-inch thick document for each cue.

I'm not sure how magic the document is; if you're in Canada I would bet people would recoil from the lengthy screeds common in the USA.

When I wrote cartoon music for Disney, they made us sign (and have notarised) a separate, half-inch thick document for each cue.
Would still love to check out the doc if you've got it handy.

Bruv I'm not a lawyer and this is legal advice; even if I were a lawyer, you are in Canada and I don't know into what jurisdiction your music will be released. I suggest you either scour the internet or ask your client(s) what they want to see.

In my case, just ground up and re-debouched what the game company wanted (they told me) into a one-paragraph thing.

Brevity is beauty, but inevitably introduces ambiguity, which is not nice in a legal document if it comes to some kind of litigation. If the project is for the EU (or world-wide) there are "moral rights" and all that. If you are going to be asking the musicians to improvise, you will be venturing into gray areas -- arguably they are composing, in that situation, so you might need a more comprehensive form if the project is like that -- (example: you provide them only with a tune and chord symbols, and they are making up the rest).

Possibly the book, This Business of Music has a release form? I can't find my copy.