What's new

Music for a casual puzzle mobile games like Candy Crush - any tips?

pixel

Hi,
I've got a gig for this type of game as a Sound Designer, but I'll also have to make music from time to time. As the gig happened immediately, I didn't have much time to prepare.
I'm usually making either very slow or very energetic music in different genres, and this type of 'casual music' is something that I'm not that good at.
I'm looking for tips, like recommended scales or preferred instrument articulations. Any composer working on this kind of music can share a bit of knowledge? :)

Ps. Besides being a casual puzzle game, it has a detective motive and is set somewhere around the '30s (not specified).
Ps.2. I can't afford Swing! library (they don't pay that much ;) ) so I have to work with mostly Spitfire libraries, mostly free BBC Orchestra. Eventually, Composer Cloud if I find matching libraries there.

The most important thing is to define the music flow first and the so-called "core loop" of the gameplay which your music is going to accompany. When, how much, how long, which purpose and how the crossfades and possible adaptivity is going to happen. This will give you the idea how to approach the actual composition process.

Generally, for a casual puzzle game you want very light and sparse arrangements which can take a lot of endless repeating. Short notes preferred over longs, and avoid percussion as much as you can except for cymbal rolls and shakers if absolutely necessary. Bass (instrument) is also advisable to keep as absent as possible. Yes, you can have a lot of pizzicatos and marimbas. Please don't.