1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mother Earth - A musical video

Discussion in 'Member's Compositions' started by kjelleman, Sep 12, 2017.

1. kjelleman

kjelleman Active Member

Jul 13, 2017
    This is a musical poem circling around the scientific view about the evolution of Earth commencing with its creation and formation then focusing on the biological evolution ending with the creation of intellectual life.
    I have posted the music earlier and here it comes with a video.
    It would be nice to get feedback, e.g. whether the video and music enhance each other.

mc_deli likes this.
  2. mc_deli

mc_deli n trepreneur

Feb 22, 2015
    Maximum respect for the enormity of this. An amazing amount of work. I love the visuals.

I am not a strings expert and have limited classical knowledge so take this with a pinch of salt. Also, it is hard to comment without knowing more context, intended use, reference tracks etc.

I think the opening 90 seconds is very, very important. You need to grab people in order to stand a chance of them getting through 15 mins - at least you don't want to lose them, right?

For me, the opening didn't really work. With the visuals I would have liked more dynamics, maybe slower transitions, more breathing space, maybe an opening credit, some kind of beginning, to help locate me. Then with the music I felt the strings were a bit synthy, undynamic, it was difficult to latch on to a hook. And by dynamics I mean the bloom of each note, the arc of passages, and overall. And then I felt that the big showpiece moments where the music and video play together (e.g. the arrival of the sun) didn't really work. It seemed like you went for a few hit points but they didn't really come together. Somehow I am also confused as to whether the visuals or music are leading.