What's new

MODO DRUM

I'd like to know too.

I'm happy with Addictive Drums, but physical modeling sounds super interesting.

I'm kind of a meticulous control freak, and I'm a drummer, so MODO DRUM fits me well. I used it on my last single. My only complaints are:

- The sound it produces can sometimes be too perfect for my taste. I wish, for example, that I could slightly detune a couple lugs for a less-refined sound.

- I can't run a whole kit (drums + cymbals) in one instance and mix them the way I want; I can't capture and balance the close-miked sound I need all the way around the kit, so I'll typically use a cymbal or two in a second instance, or I'll use cymbals from other sample libraries. In my opinion, MODO DRUM could have (and probably should have) been released as a modeled kick/snare/tom library without sampled cymbals.

- The interface could be more intuitive. It gets the job done, but it could be redesigned from the ground up for faster workflow.

I found it frustrating and I never use it, but I know if I were a bit more patient it could be a great tool.

Option paralysis for me.

Not a drummer but to me it just didn't sound as realistic as something like SD3 or BFD3. But I loved the customization for shaping the snares, kicks and toms to my liking.

I'm a big fan of physical modeling, and I'm a huge fan of Modo Bass that I own.
It is therefore logical that I lean on the case of Modo Drums, but I am strangely less a fan.
Yes it has some big advantages like customizing in detail the parameters of each item, but sometimes it seems like it's barely audible from some tests I've seen.
In addition, and as said above, the cymbals part is not modeled and has not received the same care.
Also maybe I'm hesitant to take Modo Drum because I have Reason Intro that includes Kong, which is also have modeled drum kits (except cymbals too).

Last edited: