What's new

M2 NVMe drives vs standard SSDs for heavy Sample Library use?

Boulez

Hello Folks

Newbie here. Are there some heavy users of Orchestral Sample Libraries here? Am I in the right part of the forum? I have some questions about NVMe drives vs standard SSDs. I've read what I can find, but would be grateful for more clarity if possible!

Are heavy sample library users now employing things like Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe Card (Silent) with NVMe SSDs as their main sample drives? https://www.sonnettech.com/product/m2-4 ... rview.html Have these now basically replaced SATA SSDs as the storage platform of choice? Is NVMe now the recommended setup, regardless of price? That's my impression...

I have a 2019 Mac Pro 16-Core, and will soon invest in bits of VSL, Spitfire BBC, Orchestral Tools, Synthogy Ivory and other instrument libraries. I’ll use large templates in Logic and the work will be in extreme detail. So I'm wondering...

If you’re using Sonnet/M2/NVMe (or similar), relative to SATA SSDs, are you experiencing:

1. Reduced wait when loading large templates?
2. Smooth and trouble-free playing of instrument samples?
3. Any over-heating of the M2 NVMe SSDs during short or long sessions?
4. Any other problems / issues?

Do you recommend this route—or have alternative suggestions?

I’m not toooo concerned about cost—I’m mainly just interested in getting maximum speed, efficiency and reliability.

Also, from what I gather, there seems to be a debate whether Samsung 970 Evo Plus (or Samsung 970 Pro for reliability?) or perhaps Intel Optane is best for sample library use. Anyone have direct experience or comparison of these? Or did I misunderstand?

Any advice would be much appreciated as I’m much more musician than computer hardware expert!

Thanks

Have you seen these threads?