Learning Cello (??????)

Discussion in 'Acoustic & Orchestral instruments' started by sIR dORT, Mar 9, 2019.

1. sIR dORT

sIR dORT Member

Oct 26, 2018
    A) Is it pretty dang expensive to buy one?

B) Is it very time consuming just to learn the basics?

C) Is it worth it?

2. JohnG

JohnG Senior Member

Nov 13, 2007
    California
    it might depend on how old you are. Most people find it pretty rough to learn if you never had string lessons as a kid.

HOWEVER...

you can still play it on your own recordings and that is quite fun / illuminating.

sIR dORT likes this.
  3. prodigalson

prodigalson Senior Member

Nov 14, 2013
    Can't speak to the cello but I recently started learning the violin and while it is incredibly challenging (I'm a classically trained professional pianist) It's very rewarding. The instruments can be very expensive but they don't have to be and you can rent one while you're learning to see if you take to it. A lot of the financial investment comes from paying from lessons which, IMO is an absolute must. You won't be able to learn it on your own.

String instruments take time and patience though so be ready to spend the first month or so just learning how to create a remotely satisfying sound, let alone any kind of proficiency in playing anything more than a few scales.

sIR dORT, Mark Schmieder and JohnG like this.
  4. N.Caffrey

N.Caffrey Senior Member

Mar 15, 2016
    I've started learning the cello almost 2 months ago. It's been good fun so far!

What I recommend is instead of buying a cheap crappy one from Amazon (as I was going to do) rent one! Is very cheap and you get a better instrument. I pay £25 a month.