What's new

Korg Nanokontrol 2 and Cubase 9 .... for Dummies please!

jamieboo

Hello folks

Similar questions have been asked before but I couldn't find a clear answer for something which should surely be very simple!
I have a NanoKontrol 2 and I want to get it working with Cubase 9 in Windows 10.
I have never used a controller like this before (having always drawn in CC curves in the past) so I am pretty dim in this context!
The instructions to get the NanoKontrol to work with Cubase, which are no doubt a bit out of date, tell me to:

"1. While pressing and holding down SET MARKER and REW buttons, connect the USB cable from your computer to the nanoKONTROL2."

I have done this. I assume this stage has completed without a hitch!

"2. Open the 'Device setting' window in Cubase, and add 'Mackie Control'."

I cannot find 'Device setting', the nearest I can find is 'Device Setup', but then where do I go? I cannot find a 'Mackie Control' setting anywhere.

I'm baffled.

At the moment, all the sliders on the Nanokontrol seem to affect some kind of pitchbend. I just want to be able to control CC1, CC11 mainly (my template is 90% EW Hollywood Orchestra) but probably also velocity and other CCs too.

Any help would be very welcome.

I cannot overstate how ignorant I am in this area so a patronisingly simple step by step guide would be ideal!

Thanks very much! :)

j_kranz

The settings in Cubase will allow the transport to work (play/stop/rec etc.)... if you just want it to send MIDI CC data, I believe there is a Korg app that is separate which allows you to dictate which MIDI CC each slider/knob sends etc., for that you don't need to set anything in Cubase. I have the older Nanokontrol and use it this way (never used the transport functions on it), just the sliders for MIDI CC7, 11, etc.

T.j.

First of all get the little program that comes with the unit, you can customize which cc each button/slider sends out.