Kontakt 6!

Discussion in 'SAMPLE Talk' started by lucor, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. C.R. Rivera

    C.R. Rivera Popper @ his favorite toy.

    355
    127
    Oct 16, 2015
    Coronado CA
    Since they are "introducing" K6 on 1 Oct, does the pre-release price jump up from 99 to something cosmic after the presale?
     
    whiskers likes this.
  2. germancomponist

    germancomponist Senior Member

    9,126
    894
    Jul 11, 2007
    Germany
    Kontakt-lupe.png
     
  3. Leo

    Leo Active Member

    235
    169
    Oct 14, 2011
    yeh this is the interesting way...
    The beer was packaged with the new Kontakt 6, right?
     
    Michelob and germancomponist like this.
  4. germancomponist

    germancomponist Senior Member

    9,126
    894
    Jul 11, 2007
    Germany
    My picture is not a joke. When I work on a lib in Kontakt sampler I always use this compromise solution ... .
    Ok, the bottles are always replaced. Sometimes it's a bottle of beer, sometimes it's the bottle of a good red wine .... . :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018
    Zoot_Rollo, Michelob, tav.one and 3 others like this.
  5. Leo

    Leo Active Member

    235
    169
    Oct 14, 2011
    It's a pity I was already looking forward to the new NI k6 beer..
     
  6. Geoff Grace

    Geoff Grace Senior Member

    792
    863
    Apr 15, 2009
    Of course, if you drink too much, then everything will become blurry again. :confused:

    Best,

    Geoff
     
  7. lp59burst

    lp59burst I'm just a "hobbyist"...

    626
    534
    Sep 11, 2016
    SF Bay Area, USA
    I just went to see if I qualify for the "upgrade" from K5 to K6. I own the full version of K5 that came with my K10 Ultimate purchase.

    But, when I tried to check on the upgrade it says "None of the qualifying products are registered to your account" ... and that I'm only eligible for the Crossgrade at $249... huh!?! :eek: :confused: :thumbsdown:

    And yes, K10 Ultimate shows up as a registered product on my NI page.

    Did I miss something?
     
  8. Kosta S

    Kosta S New Member

    19
    10
    Jan 2, 2018
    I have a 27' 4K display and Kontakt is too small. With Windows 10 I can rightclick on the desktop and under display settings I can change it to 150% and helps allot, going 170% or over then Kontakt becomes really big and hardly fits in the screen... Reaper handles Kontakt perfectly not so with Studio One, but today they came out with a special upgrade I have not try yet ([Windows 10] System DPI scaling option for third-party plug-ins)...
     
  9. Geoff Grace

    Geoff Grace Senior Member

    792
    863
    Apr 15, 2009
    Wow! A 27 foot 4K display! Your room must be huge!!!

    (Sorry, I couldn't resist. Great typo!)

    Best,

    Geoff
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
    tav.one, bigcat1969 and Kosta S like this.
  10. Kosta S

    Kosta S New Member

    19
    10
    Jan 2, 2018
    Ha-ha-ha! Sorry for the mistake, yeah I agree 27 foot it would be... a bit much!!!
     
  11. rrichard63

    rrichard63 Perpetual Novice

    663
    339
    Nov 17, 2013
    San Francisco Bay Area
    It would be worth contacting NI about K10 and previous versions. I have K11 Ultimate and it's offering me the $99 upgrade.
     
  12. catsass

    catsass Señor Member

    835
    788
    Jan 9, 2015
    It should all be sorted out in Kontakt 6.66
     
    Zoot_Rollo, jamwerks, rhye and 4 others like this.
  13. gsilbers

    gsilbers Part of Pulsesetter-Sounds.com


    I have in my mind the stereotype that germans love tiny letters on their software. emagic and NI where the ones i got this from way back when.
     
  14. slateandash

    slateandash Member

    89
    116
    May 9, 2018
    Yep, reckon we'll be jumping on to it asap. Been desperate for better quality reverb and delay units, be interesting to see how the wavetable section works.

    Although, we're also interested in doing some stuff for Falcon. Have been playing with it and getting some very good results. The possibilities and workflow for sound design is exactly how we would've hoped Kontakt 6 might have been updated, its a shame NI couldn't have looked at what UVI are doing there.

    I understand that there is a lot of investment into the architecture of Kontakt in it's current setup, but couldn't 5 have been left as a 'legacy' version to run alongside 6, which could've been a big redesign?
     
    jamwerks and D Halgren like this.
  15. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon KSP Wizard

    5,680
    3,535
    May 25, 2010
    Croatia
    Nope. Backwards compatibility is priority #1 in Kontakt team. There won't be a from-scratch redesign of the whole engine.

    Want flexibility of Falcon, cool granular, great FX, unlimited modulation, MPE support? Use Falcon, it's great for that. Want much better CPU efficiency, multicore support and better DFD performance? Kontakt. It's simple. They're not competing, they're completing each other. One letter but a huge difference :) UVI doesn't even seem to have any intent in encroaching on Kontakt's domination in the market, which is pretty obvious from the types of products UVI puts out (and number of 3rd party devs for it).
     
  16. slateandash

    slateandash Member

    89
    116
    May 9, 2018
    Interesting perspective on Falcon and Kontakt. Although to me, still a shame that they will never stray too far from what Kontakt is now, and I guess will be the death of it one day. We shall see though!
     
    jamwerks likes this.
  17. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon KSP Wizard

    5,680
    3,535
    May 25, 2010
    Croatia
    I wouldn't be so convinced. We got wavetables in, who knows, we might get some other fun stuff down the road. I think they're far from "done" with Kontakt.
     
    elpedro, zimm83 and gregjazz like this.
  18. slateandash

    slateandash Member

    89
    116
    May 9, 2018
    :emoji_pray:
     
  19. j_kranz

    j_kranz Active Member

    289
    138
    Nov 23, 2011
    Texas
    Yeah I’m surprised there hasn’t been more discussion about the new wavetable functionality
     
  20. ka00

    ka00 Senior Member

    623
    862
    Oct 23, 2017
    Toronto, Canada
    From NI's Kontakt 6 product page:

    "KONTAKT also works seamlessly with the Light Guide on KOMPLETE KONTROL S-SERIES keyboards for one-to-one visual feedback."

    Has anyone been able to confirm if this blurb means you no longer need to run Kontakt inside an instance of Komplete Kontrol software in order for the Light Guide to work?

    I'm guessing it means no more KK software needed, because of the choice of the words "seamlessly" and "one-to-one", since I'd classify adding a Komplete Kontrol wrapper as A) introducing a "seam" and B) no longer "one-to-one" (Kontakt-to-LightGuide vs Kontakt-to-KK-to-LightGuide).

    Thanks
     

Share This Page