Komplete Kontrol for ANY controller?

Discussion in 'SAMPLE Talk' started by jaketanner, Feb 28, 2019.

  1. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,634
    2,308
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    Thanks! I don't use the KK software much myself other than to set up keyboard presets and occasionally as a VST player for plugins that don't have standalone players, so I was alarmed by what updating the software did to the interaction of the S61 with Logic. That you are not having the same issues gives me hope that it is some kind of setting that reinstalling will fix.
     
  2. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,634
    2,308
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    I did a full uninstall and reinstall, and am having the exact same behavior. If I run KK software before, or restart the computer, or have an instance of KK in the Logic project, Logic and S61 keyboard behave normally. But if I close Logic and reopen it, then Logic cannot find the S61 keyboard (it sees it only as a generic midi keyboard) and the transport does not light up.

    My query to the NI forum is still pending approval, now almost 18 hours after submitting it.
     
  3. James H

    James H 01001000 01101001

    253
    397
    Dec 20, 2018
    UK
    NI support is a joke, utter garbage. They make great products and that's where it ends for me. Considering the price we pay for the products, 18 hours (pending) is disgusting in a modern tech support model.
     
    jbuhler likes this.
  4. Ryan99

    Ryan99 Senior Member

    670
    189
    Jul 9, 2013
    It’s the weekend....
     
    Robo Rivard likes this.
  5. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,634
    2,308
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    This is to approve a post to the support forum, not for support itself. Unless they are also doing a shitty job advertising how their support actually works. But to me it appears they moderate questions before allowing them to post to the general support forum. If the support model is a forum, posting needs to be nearly instantaneous. If this is simply the engine they are using to handle support queries they need to change their language to make that clear. In either case the process is broken whether it’s the weekend or not.
     
    James H likes this.
  6. James H

    James H 01001000 01101001

    253
    397
    Dec 20, 2018
    UK
    I literally just bought a game 02:53 and the code was "Already Used" error.
    Raised a support call.
    I'm downloading it now @ 03:17
    It's the weekend...
     
  7. FriFlo

    FriFlo Senior Member

    1,909
    708
    Jun 13, 2011
    That is interesting! But I suppose, this new version won't let you access other parameters via midi, like dialing through instruments or picking scales, right? Not to speak of forwarding the information that feeds the light guide ...
    I would like to use this plugin with my own controllers. I am just not willing to buy the hardware, because for most of my control needs it won't work, as the instruments reside in VEpro and KK does not properly work for VSTs outside of your DAW.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    jaketanner

    jaketanner Senior Member

    855
    380
    Mar 21, 2017
    Easton, PA
    I still have no idea if there is any benefit to downloading the additional sounds, as it seems that they are all in Ultimate 11 anyway.
     
  9. Alex Fraser

    Alex Fraser Senior Member

    1,087
    1,503
    Jun 21, 2017
    UK
    The expansions selection would be new for you I think..
     
  10. OP
    OP
    jaketanner

    jaketanner Senior Member

    855
    380
    Mar 21, 2017
    Easton, PA
    Do they have their own GUI or are they rejiggered from a synth within Kontakt already? Just don't want to add more gigs for things I'm rarely gonna use. Have you tried them?
     
  11. TigerTheFrog

    TigerTheFrog I'm supposed to be working now.

    1,232
    1,802
    Nov 18, 2016
    Brooklyn, NY
    I have heard this a lot, but I wasn't able to test it because I only recently got VE Pro. Hilariously, I can't test it now because the Windows Update bug means KK doesn't recognize my controller anymore. I fixed it once, but the second time caused some serious issues with my computer that it's not worth going through again. So for the moment, I will live without Komplete Kontrol.

    What I was able to do was hook up a NanoKontrol using the new version of KK and MIDI learn. And it works fine in VE Pro. I was able to control all the knobs and change patches (although not hear the previews). It works with the Effects tool. Using your mouse, you can also use the arps, scales, but you always could do that.

    If you want to hear the patch previews, the best way is still with the arrow keys on your computer keyboard.

    There is a big limitation though: as soon as you change to a different instrument, the knobs don't work anymore. This is because the two-way handshake with a NI controller isn't happening. However you can load up a new instance of any KK instrument and your knobs will work on it.

    In terms of whether VE Pro sends signals back for lightguides, etc., I won't know until I can use KK again.

    While I am a big Komplete Kontrol booster, this experience shows that I may not always be able to rely on it, and is going to make me reluctant to build my template with it. For all I know, the lightguides won't work in VE Pro anyway.
     
  12. Alex Fraser

    Alex Fraser Senior Member

    1,087
    1,503
    Jun 21, 2017
    UK
    They’re just audio files. You can load them using the built in sample player, or straight to the daw.
     
  13. Alex Fraser

    Alex Fraser Senior Member

    1,087
    1,503
    Jun 21, 2017
    UK
    That's quite interesting. I've been trying to break Logic with this, and the CC mapping appears to "stick" whichever I try to break it. Would this be a Vienna Pro thing? I'm not using it..
     
  14. C-Wave

    C-Wave Senior Member

    930
    342
    Feb 27, 2016
    Konplete Kontrol 2.1.0, windows 10 and all the lights on my S88 just vanished few days ago and no amount of uninstalls, remove registry entries in regedit.exe or other tech gimmicks could bring the lights back. The controller is working as a regular midi controller but no light giudes or transport controls..
    Tried on a laptop and no problem, but not on my my main workstation though :(
    On the workstation I found that The “Controller editor is not recognizing the S88 (konplete kontrol-1) in the preferences. No problem on the laptop.

    Heeeeeeelp!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2019
  15. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,634
    2,308
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    NI support finally responded. I will say that it seems like they are repurposing forum software to handle support because the answer I got was very direct like a service request. So the fact that my post was “pending” before posting was in fact an indication that it was in the service queue. The time response for the service was perfectly adequate given that I submitted it late on a Friday night.

    In any case, NI says they are aware of the problem and that an update will be released soon.
     
  16. C-Wave

    C-Wave Senior Member

    930
    342
    Feb 27, 2016
    Thanks for posting but I’m lost here.. since you started with a slightly different problem, then you had another issue, is NI talking about a problem similar to mine (i.e. lights off on controller, working only as a generic midi controller)? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2019
  17. TigerTheFrog

    TigerTheFrog I'm supposed to be working now.

    1,232
    1,802
    Nov 18, 2016
    Brooklyn, NY
    The problem you are having is experienced by all people with first gen NI keyboards who Windows users. The solution can be found HERE
    Good luck!
     
  18. C-Wave

    C-Wave Senior Member

    930
    342
    Feb 27, 2016
    Thanks so much Tiger. Worked like a charm.. Who knew, huh :) ??
     
    TigerTheFrog likes this.
  19. jbuhler

    jbuhler Senior Member

    1,634
    2,308
    Jun 19, 2016
    US
    I see your problem has been resolved below, but I add detail from what support told me for others: There is an issue in the KK 2.1 update that affects host integration in Logic, Cubase, and Live, so they will be issuing an update soon. How quality control did not catch an issue that has such widespread effects is a bit disturbing, but since it doesn't affect users who have KK running in the DAW, I suppose they didn't think to look at wider system effects. Still, this is really not something that should happen at a company as large as NI.
     
    galactic orange likes this.
  20. C-Wave

    C-Wave Senior Member

    930
    342
    Feb 27, 2016
    Apprecite the update and totally with you on QC. In fact it does NOT integrate with DAW’s (mine is Cubase windows 10.0.15) because it simply does not see anything except a generic midi controller system wide; light guide, transport keys, everything gone! can’t escape it!
    Tip: This tab (attached image) was gone completely from Controller Editor.

    Update: For anyone who is having a similar issue:
    1. Security Update for Microsoft Windows (KB4487017) didn't exist on my system, only Security Update for Microsoft Windows (KB4487044) did which I uninstalled.
    2. Make sure you also pause automatic WINDOWS 10 updates (as per the NI document recommendation) BEFORE restarting the system.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 4, 2019

Share This Page