Importing my legally purchased iTunes music into DAW for reference

Discussion in 'Your DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)' started by marclawsonmusic, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    marclawsonmusic

    marclawsonmusic Senior Member

    1,250
    257
    Mar 16, 2012
    Florida
    I cannot see any of the .m4p files in the iTunes browser in Logic. No surprise there.

    Looks like I just need to get rid of this DRM crap at some point - then I won't run into this issue any more. Now, where is that old spindle of CD-Rs again? :unsure:

    Thanks for the help and feedback, all.
     
  2. kitekrazy

    kitekrazy Senior Member

    2,128
    592
    Dec 23, 2008
    I used to burn CD RW discs and then import them back in. If you want DRM free see how much it costs to buy on Amazon Music.

    BTW isn't iTunes eventually going to go away?
     
  3. Studio E

    Studio E Eric Watkins

    You can’t convert to aiff and import either? That’s what I do.
     
  4. Jdiggity1

    Jdiggity1 Mod in Training

    1,449
    1,369
    Jan 31, 2012
    La La Land
    Route your system sounds (iTunes) into your DAW. Most interfaces above $300 have some form of loopback feature that allows this (RME, MOTU, Focusrite, Mackie...). Otherwise there are software solutions like this: http://jackaudio.org/
     
  5. OP
    OP
    marclawsonmusic

    marclawsonmusic Senior Member

    1,250
    257
    Mar 16, 2012
    Florida
    Wow great idea! I will try that. Thanks!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    marclawsonmusic

    marclawsonmusic Senior Member

    1,250
    257
    Mar 16, 2012
    Florida
    @Jdiggity1 This worked great. I was able to record a short passage from the song in my iTunes library directly into Logic. This is actually much better than grabbing the whole file and cutting out the section I needed anyway.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
    Jdiggity1 likes this.
  7. FriFlo

    FriFlo Senior Member

    1,857
    662
    Jun 13, 2011
    I also route the signal into my DAW and simply record the audio. With RME you got a loop back function on all outputs.
     
  8. Illico

    Illico Samuel Le Tonquèze

    What about ffmpeg ?
    Use ffmpeg -i *.m4p *.wav
     
  9. Saxer

    Saxer Senior Member

    3,774
    3,839
    Mar 30, 2008
    Frankfurt/Germany
    I can drag/drop near anything from the iTunes window into Logic. But I had two or three songs which were protected and refused to be copied. Seems to be some Apple mistake and happens from time to time. I also simply recorded the track via audio input into Logic (like we did in the last Millenium).
     
  10. playz123

    playz123 Senior Member

    2,892
    768
    Nov 7, 2011
    Nanaimo, BC
  11. OP
    OP
    marclawsonmusic

    marclawsonmusic Senior Member

    1,250
    257
    Mar 16, 2012
    Florida
    Thank you, Frank. Unfortunately, that software didn't like the .m4p files due to the DRM. But I am sorted now... just routed the audio into Logic and hit 'record'.
     

Share This Page