I have no idea what I'm doing

Discussion in 'INTRODUCE Yourself' started by sunetti, May 29, 2019.

1. sunetti

sunetti New Member

May 29, 2019
    Hello everyone!

As the title suggests, I have no idea what I'm doing. I am relatively new to the composing scene and made my first serious attempt in October (you can check it out here: )
    )
    Since then I haven't really done much except for playing around with newly purchased VIs.

The reason why I joined this forum is to learn from others and engage in discussions with other like-minded folk around here. Maybe down the line I will have a better understanding on what I'm actually doing!

I hope no one here bites. :emoji_older_woman:

Best regards,
    sunetti (the newbie).

2. Shiirai

Shiirai Resident Crow

Oct 11, 2018
    I do not so much bite as peck.

But really, does anybody truly know what they're doing? Or do we just throw things at a canvas and learn from what sticks and looks pretty?

Welcome to VI-C.

richardt4520, MartinH. and sunetti like this.
  3. FrontierSoundFX

FrontierSoundFX Sound Designer & Audio Engineer

Jan 3, 2019
    When it comes to my personal projects it seems I rarely “finish” them anyway. I can open it up months later and be interested in trying something different. Relaxing piece though. What gear are you using to put it together?

sunetti likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    sunetti

sunetti New Member

May 29, 2019
    @Shiirai As long as you warn me before you start pecking, that's fine. ;)

I like to think the latter. It's almost like contemporary art where anything and everything can be considered a masterpiece.

@FrontierSoundFX I'm the opposite. I usually ditch projects halfway through and never return to them!

Currently using FL Studio although my style probably suits Cubase more (the elicenser is such a turn-off though...). It's a decent DAW and serves me well.